fbpx
AN 2 9836

In Dreams

Release date September 04, 2012
Album code AN 2 9836
Genres Recitative

Album information

In Dreams

“Out of my own great woe/ I make my little songs,/ Which rustle their feathers in throngs,/ And beat on her heart even so.” So wrote Elisabeth Barrett Browning after a poem in Heinrich Heine’s collection Lyrisches Intermezzo. First published in 1823, a discrete echo of his lost loves, it is one of the Heine’s most interesting works. It is hardly surprising, then, that Robert Schumann and Joseph-Guy-Marie Ropartz, both raised with a love of literature, would wish to set some of these gems to music.

Schumann has reason to be doubly indebted to Heine, who, like the composer, was torn between a lyrical, almost tender vulnerability and a biting, sometimes scathing irony—an extension of his not inconsiderable cynicism. While the Liederkreis, Op. 24, from February 1840 (which set nine of Heine’s works), are already convincing, the Dichterliebe (The Poet’s Love), completed a few months later, are a high point of the genre. Of the 20 lieder that originally made up the cycle, Schumann kept 16; the songs are surprisingly varied in both inspiration and execution, with textures ranging from translucent to burgeoning and an emotional thrust ranging from exquisite tenderness to blazing ardour. “How successful these songs may be in public, I cannot really say. I can say, however, that I have never before written anything with such love as when I was composing this group,” wrote Schumann when submitting the manuscript to a Berlin publisher.

In these songs, the piano becomes an extension of Schumann’s ego, the second character in an intimate dialogue. He lends an attentive, almost unflappable, ear (“Aus meinen Thränen sprießen”), supports with deference (“Ich will meine Seele tauchen”), deftly illustrates (“Und wüßten’s die Blumen”), morphs into a ghost (“Ich hab’ in Traum geweinet”), or subjugates the matter (“Ich grolle nicht”). The instrumental preludes and interludes free the voice from the musical fabric (“Im wunderschönen Monat Mai”), and the long postludes (“Hör’ ich das Liedchen klingen” and the last one, “Die alten, bösen Lieder”) allow it to die away delicately. With the piano so skilfully evoking imagery, the union between poetry and music is completely natural.

In setting and expressing Heine’s poems in such a thoughtful manner, Schumann superimposes a dramatic and autobiographical framework over the cycle, a record of his initially thwarted but ultimately requited love for Clara. This transforms the work into an organic whole; so thoroughly has Schumann absorbed the poems that we almost feel as though they no longer belong entirely to Heine.

In the preface to Louis Kornprobst’s monograph on Ropartz, Gabriel Le Bras writes that “for Ropartz, music was an expression of the soul.” A conservatory director, music critic, novelist, founder of the literary magazine L’Hermine, and himself a poet (his collections include Adagiettos and Modes mineurs), it was perhaps only natural that he wished to retranslate sections of Lyrisches Intermezzo with Pierre-René Hirsch. These translations, published independently in 1891, were the basis of his song cycle Quatre poèmes d’après l’Intermezzo d’Henri Heine. “Any liberty is permissible,” notes Ropartz. “A musician in command of his craft should be governed by no other laws but his own pleasure, sincerity, and passion.”

Maurice Ravel’s last completed work, the song cycle Don Quichotte à Dulcinée, set to poems by Paul Morand, was written for Georg Wilhelm Pabst’s film Don Quichotte. However, unbeknownst to any of the others, baritone Fédor Chaliapine had commissioned song cycles from a number of different composers (Jacques Ibert’s songs were ultimately chosen for the film). For Ravel, these three songs were a chance to pay homage to Cervantès’ hero and revisit his imaginary Spain. With its guitar-like accompaniment, “Chanson romanesque” is a declaration of love to Dulcinea. “Chanson épique” reads like an appeal to the protection of the Virgin Mary and the saints, the piano becoming a church organ over a Basque zortzico rhythm. The cycle closes with “Chanson à boire,” an energetic jota.

A prolific composer with some 20 operas to his name, including Flight (which has enjoyed 13 separate productions), Tobias and the Angel, The Palace in the Sky, Man on the Moon, and The Adventures of Pinocchio (a family work performed over 80 times since its premiere in 2007), Jonathan Dove (born 1959) seeks above all to communicate, entertain and evoke life-altering experiences in audiences. “I wrote Three Tennyson Songs as a gift for Philippe Sly, in celebration of a musical friendship. When we first met in Banff in the summer of 2009, I was amazed by the sheer beauty of his voice, and the confidence of his musicianship. Accompanying him was a delight—in Schumann, at first, and other lieder. Later on, I discovered that he could improvise with rare ease, and so we would choose a poem and extemporise together. I had wanted to set Tennyson’s O Swallow, Swallow for some time, and had also thought about Dark House from In Memoriam, Tennyson’s great outpouring of grief for his lost friend. I chose The Sailor-boy as a contrast, to make a rousing finale.” Premiered in April 2011 by Sly, the work is recorded here for the first time.

© Lucie Renaud
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

Philippe Sly
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9836

En rêves

Date de sortie 04 septembre 2012
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9836
Genres Récit vocal

Informations sur l'album

En rêves

« De mes grands chagrins je fais de petites chansons; elles agitent leur plumage sonore et prennent leur vol vers le cœur de ma bien-aimée. » Publié pour la première fois en 1823, écho discret d’amours déçues, le Lyrisches Intermezzo d’Heinrich Heine reste l’un des recueils les plus intéressants de son auteur. Il ne faut donc pas se surprendre que Robert Schumann et Joseph-Guy-Marie Ropartz, tous deux élevés dans l’amour de la littérature, aient souhaité mettre certaines de ces perles en musique.

Schumann ne peut que reconnaître en Heine un double, un frère d’armes écartelé entre une vulnérabilité lyrique, presque tendre, et une ironie mordante, parfois grinçante, prolongement de celle, plus désabusée du compositeur. Si le Liederkreis opus 24 (qui utilise neuf poèmes de Heine) convainc déjà en février 1840, le Dichterliebe (Les amours du poète), complété quelques mois plus tard, se révèle un sommet du genre. Des 20 mélodies composant le cycle à l’origine, Schumann en gardera 16, palette étonnamment diversifiée, tant au niveau de l’inspiration que de la réalisation, passant de la transparence au foisonnement des textures, de la tendresse délicate à la fougue la plus brûlante. « Je ne peux pas évaluer si ces chants connaîtront le succès de façon publique. Je peux par contre affirmer que je n’ai rien écrit jusqu’ici avec autant d’amour », écrira Schumann en proposant le manuscrit à un éditeur berlinois.

Le piano devient ici prolongement du « moi » schumannien, deuxième personnage d’un dialogue intime. Il offre une écoute attentive, presque imperturbable (« Aus meinen Thränen sprießen »), soutient avec déférence « (Ich will meine Seele tauchen »), illustre avec finesse (« Und wüßten’s die Blumen »), se mue en fantôme (« Ich hab’ in Traum geweinet ») ou subjugue le propos (« Ich grolle nicht »). Les préludes et interludes instrumentaux permettent à la voix de s’émanciper du tapis sonore (« Im wunderschönen Monat Mai »), les longs postludes (« Hör’ ich das Liedchen klingen » et l’ultime « Die alten, bösen Lieder ») de s’éteindre en toute délicatesse. L’union entre poésie et musique devient naturelle, le piano suscitant l’image.

En s’appropriant les poèmes de Heine, en les articulant dans un ordre mûrement réfléchi, Schumann y superpose une trame dramatique, autobiographique, dans laquelle s’inscrit le récit de ses amours d’abord contrariées, enfin admises, avec Clara. Ce faisant, il transforme le cycle en un tout organique, qui nous laisse croire que l’œuvre n’appartient plus entièrement à Heine tant elle a été absorbée par Schumann.

« Une expression de l’âme voilà ce qu’est pour Ropartz la musique », avance Gabriel Le Bras dans sa préface de la monographie consacrée au compositeur de Louis Kornprobst. Directeur de conservatoire, critique musical chroniqueur, nouvelliste, fondateur de la revue littéraire L’Hermine, lui-même poète (on lui doit notamment les recueils Adagiettos et Modes mineurs), il était sans doute naturel qu’il souhaite retraduire quatre fragments du Lyrisches Intermezzo avec Pierre-René Hirsch. Le texte, publié de façon indépendante en 1891, servira de moteur à ses Quatre poèmes d’après l’Intermezzo d’Henri Heine en 1899. « On peut tout se permettre, souligne le compositeur. Un musicien qui possède son métier ne doit avoir d’autres lois que son bon plaisir, sa sincérité et sa passion. »

Dernière œuvre achevée par Ravel, le recueil Don Quichotte à Dulcinée, sur des poèmes de Paul Morand, était destiné au film de Georg Wilhelm Pabst. Sans en informer les principaux intéressés, Fédor Chaliapine avait commandé des cycles de mélodies auprès de plusieurs compositeurs. (On retiendra au final la version de Jacques Ibert.) Hommage au héros de Cervantès, les trois chansons permettent à Ravel de revisiter une fois encore l’imaginaire espagnol. « Chanson romanesque » se veut une déclaration d’amour fervent à Dulcinée, l’accompagnement rappelant la guitare. « Chanson épique » se lit comme un appel à la protection de la Vierge et des saints, le piano devenant orgue d’église sur un rythme de zortzico basque. « Chanson à boire », une énergique jota, clôt le triptyque.

Compositeur prolifique ayant à ce jour commis une vingtaine d’opéras dont Flight (repris dans 13 productions différentes), Tobias and the Angel, The Palace in the Sky, Man on the Moon et The Adventures of Pinocchio (œuvre familiale donnée plus de 80 fois depuis sa création en décembre 2007), Jonathan Dove (né en 1959) cherche avant toute chose à transmettre, à distraire, à susciter des réactions renouvelées chez l’auditeur. « J’ai écrit Three Tennyson Songs comme cadeau à Philippe Sly, pour célébrer une amitié musicale. Quand nous nous sommes rencontrés à Banff à l’été 2009, j’ai été ébloui par la pure beauté de sa voix et l’assurance de sa musicalité. L’accompagner fut un plaisir – d’abord dans Schumann, puis dans d’autres lieder. Plus tard, j’ai découvert qu’il pouvait improviser avec une rare aisance; nous choisissions alors un poème et improvisions ensemble. Depuis un moment déjà, je songeais à mettre en musique O Swallow, Swallow de Tennyson, ainsi que Dark House extrait d’In Memoriam, remarquable épanchement de douleur de Tennyson après la perte de son ami. J’ai choisi The Sailor Boy comme élément contrastant, en un exaltant finale. » L’œuvre, créée en avril 2011 par Philippe Sly, est enregistrée ici pour la première fois.

© Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

Philippe Sly
AN 2 9112
AN 2 9112
AN 2 9112

Start typing and press Enter to search