fbpx
AN 2 9815

Concerti virtuosi

Release date September 20, 2005
Album code AN 2 9815
Periods Baroque
Genres Musique de chambre

Album information

The musical term “concerto” has its roots in the word concertare, which in Latin means “to contend, dispute, debate,” and in Italian means “to agree, arrange, get together.” In the sixteenth and early seventeenth centuries the Italian definition prevailed, and the words concerto and concertante were used to describe music written for ensembles of voices and/or instruments. Gradually the word came to be associated primarily with instrumental music, and the Latin notion of contention crept in. The early concerti grossi were based on the popular chamber form of the trio sonata for two violins and continuo, to which were added four-part orchestral interjections. When the concertino trio played in alternation with the orchestra, a sort of contest or dialogue was created. Although composers such as Stradella had experimented with the idea of a concerto grosso as early as 1675, it is Arcangelo Corelli who both formalized and popularized the form in his landmark 1714 publication of twelve concerti grossi, Opus 6. Among his many imitators were Locatelli and Handel.

Pietro Antonio Locatelli was born in Bergamo and studied in Rome. His first publication, the concerti grossi Opus 1, were published in Rome in 1721. Although officially dedicated to his patron, Camillo Cybo, it is clear from the music that Locatelli has written these works in homage to Corelli. The format is the same: eight concerti da chiesa (concertos for the church) followed by four concerti da camera (concertos for the chamber). The style and choice of movements is similar, although Locatelli’s music is clearly a generation younger than Corelli’s. They are beautifully crafted works, and J.S. Bach is known to have performed them with his orchestra in Leipzig.

Although Corelli’s Opus 6 were renowned throughout Europe, they were nowhere more popular than in England. The eighteenth-century music historian Sir John Hawkins recounted the following anecdote of their arrival:

There lived at that time opposite Southampton Street, in the Strand, Mr. Prevost, a bookseller, who dealt largely to Holland. It happed that one day he had received a large consignment of books from Amsterdam, and among them the concertos of Corelli, which had just then been published; upon looking at them he thought of Mr. Needler [a distinguished violinist], and immediately went with them to his house […] but being informed that Mr. Needler was then at the concert at Mr. Loeillet’s, he went with them thither. Mr. Needler was transported with the sight of such a treasure; the books were immediately laid out, and he and the rest of the performers played the whole twelve concertos through, without rising from their seats.

In the late 1730’s, George Frideric Handel began to enjoy considerable success with his productions of English oratorios in the London theatres. No oratorio performance was complete without the addition of several concertos and, to this end, Handel sat down to compile a set of twelve concerti grossi, or “Grand Concertos,” modeled after the still popular Corelli Opus 6. All twelve were completed within a month in the fall of 1739, and were issued by Handel’s publisher, John Walsh, as Opus 6. The structure of Handel’s works is less clearly defined than that of Corelli’s, as is the distinction between the concertino and ripieno groups, with the orchestra often playing with the concertino in both expressive and virtuosic passages.

While Stradella and Corelli worked on the development of the concerto grosso in Rome, Torelli in Bologna and Vivaldi in Venice busied themselves with the genre we more commonly associate with the word concerto: a three-movement model in which a slow movement is framed by two fast movements, all showcasing the virtuosity of one or more soloists. The movements are written in ritornello form, the orchestra repeating the opening theme, in whole or in part and in various keys, in alternation with free, often virtuoso, solo passages. A sort of friendly rivalry is established between the soloist and the orchestra, perhaps a perfect synthesis of the contrasting notions of contention and agreement implicit in the origins of the word “concerto.”

Antonio Vivaldi wrote some 500 concertos, and although the majority are for solo instrument(s) and orchestra, he also experimented with other possibilities, among them the ripieno concerto, in which the orchestra performs without any soloist or concertino group, and the chamber concerto, in which a small group of soloists are accompanied solely by continuo, joining forces to create the “orchestral” ritornelli. The Vivaldi concertos on this recording are both hybrids of various concerto models. The Concerto in A Minor, RV. 536, scored for 2 oboes and strings, is written in standard concerto form, but in style and sound is akin to a concerto grosso, with the two oboes and the string orchestra in a dialogue of equals, rather than of soloists with accompaniment. The Concerto for four violins in E Minor is one of four such works included by Vivaldi in his first publication of instrumental concertos, printed in 1711 with the title L’estro armonico (Harmonic Fancy). A sort of expanded chamber concerto, the four soloists are accompanied by a violist, cellist, bass and continuo. The concertos for four violins were undoubtedly inspired by the abundance of talented violin players, both students and teachers, at the Pietà, where Vivaldi was employed from 1704. L’estro armonico was an enormously successful publication, and established Vivaldi’s reputation as one of the most popular composers of his generation.

The Fasch Bassoon Concerto in C Minor is also a sort of hybrid concerto. Johann Friedrich Fasch was Capellmeister at the Anhalt court in Zerbst from 1722 until his death in 1758. A prolific composer of orchestral music, Fasch had a particular penchant for wind instruments. This work combines elements of the solo concerto, concerto grosso and chamber concerto. The solo bassoonist is accompanied by an orchestra which includes strings and oboes, the oboes often taking on a concertino role, and joining the continuo in many of the solo bassoon sections to create an accompanying trio.

As a young man, Johann Sebastian Bach undertook careful study of concertos by Vivaldi, Marcello, Albinoni and others, transcribing several of them for solo keyboard. When later composing his own concertos for solo instrument and orchestra, he often turned once again to the technique of transcription, though in most cases with his own works as models. Several of the harpsichord concertos, for example, are transcriptions of cantata sinfonias originally scored for organ and orchestra. Although Bach frequently featured wind instruments in solo roles in cantatas, passions, and in the famed Brandenburg Concertos, there are no extant solo wind concertos in his worklist. Jeanne Lamon has turned to Bach’s cantatas to create a “new” concerto for oboe d’amore, transcribing the solo vocal lines of three arias with string and continuo accompaniment. The first and third arias were originally scored for solo bass voice, from Cantatas 100 and 30 respectively. Both are settings of uplifting texts: “Was Got tut, das ist wohlgetan, er ist mein Licht, mein Leben” (What God does is rightly done, he is my light, my life); and “Gelobet sei Gott, gelobet sein Name, der treulich gehalten Verspechen und Eid!” (Praise be to God, praise to his name’s sake, who faithfully keeps his promise and vow!). The middle movement is drawn from the opening aria of Cantata 170 for solo alto, “Vergnügte Ruh, beliebte Seelenlust” (Contented rest, beloved inner joy). In each movement, oboist John Abberger has adapted the solo vocal lines for the oboe d’amore, embellishing them with idiomatic articulation, figuration and ornamentation.

Although the role of the violoncello in the baroque solo concerto was usually as a member of the accompanying continuo section, a few composers allowed the cellist to take centre stage, among them Vivaldi and Leo. Leonardo Leo was one of the leading Neapolitan composers of his day. Born near Brindisi in 1694, he went to Naples in 1709 to study at the Conservatorio S. Maria della Pietà dei Turchini. He remained in Naples until his death, holding several positions in churches and conservatories, and composing a steady stream of operas, cantatas, oratorios and sacred works. He composed but a handful of instrumental music: six cello concertos, a concerto for four violins and continuo, and various pieces for solo harpsichord. Most notable are the cello concertos, dedicated to Domenico Marzio Caraffa, the Duke of Maddaloni from 1716 to 1770 and a keen amateur of the cello. Leo’s writing for the cello is almost vocal in approach, exploiting the instrument’s natural lyricism and expressive capabilities.

© Charlotte Nediger

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Concerto baroque

Le terme musical « concerto » trouve ses racines dans le mot concertare, qui en latin signifie « concurrencer, discuter, débattre » et en italien « être d’accord, arranger, se réunir ». Au cours du XVIe siècle et du début du XVIIe, c’est la définition italienne qui l’a emporté, de sorte que les mots concerto et concertante furent employés pour décrire des musiques écrites pour des ensembles de voix et/ou d’instruments. Peu à peu, le mot en est venu à être associé surtout à la musique instrumentale et le sens latin de concurrencer s’est finalement imposé.

Les premiers concertos grossos ont été construits sur le modèle de la populaire sonate en trio pour deux violons et basse continue, auxquels on ajoutait des interventions d’orchestre à quatre parties. Lorsque le trio concertino jouait en alternance avec l’orchestre, il en résultait une sorte d’émulation ou de dialogue. Bien que des compositeurs tels que Stradella aient joué avec le concept d’un concerto grosso dès 1675, c’est à Arcangelo Corelli qu’on doit d’avoir organisé et popularisé la forme dans les jalons que sont ses douze concertos grossos opus 6 publiés en 1714. Parmi ses nombreux imitateurs on compte Locatelli et Handel.

Pietro Antonio Locatelli est né à Bergame et a fait ses études à Rome. Ses concertos grossos opus 1, sa première parution, sont publiés à Rome en 1721. Bien que ces œuvres soient officiellement dédiées à son patron, Camillo Cybo, la musique rend clairement hommage à Corelli. La présentation en est identique: huit concerti da chiesa (concertos d’église) suivis de quatre concerti da camera (concertos de chambre). Le style et le choix des mouvements est semblable, bien qu’il soit clair que la musique de Locatelli est de la génération qui suit celle de Corelli. Ce sont des œuvres admirablement tournées et l’on sait que J.S. Bach les a jouées à Leipzig avec son orchestre.

Bien que les concertos de l’opus 6 de Corelli aient été célèbres partout en Europe, ils ne furent nulle part aussi populaires qu’en Angleterre. Sir John Hawkins, un historien du XVIIIe siècle, rapporte cette anecdote au sujet de leur arrivée:

À cette époque vivait de l’autre côté de Southampton Street, dans le Strand, M. Prevost, un libraire, qui faisait beaucoup d’affaires avec la Hollande. Un jour, il reçut d’Amsterdam un gros lot d’ouvrages parmi lesquels se trouvaient les concertos de Corelli, qui venaient tout juste d’être publiés; en les examinant, il songea à M. Needler [un éminent violoniste] et se rendit illico chez lui […] mais étant informé que M. Needler était alors au concert chez M. Loeillet, il les y emporta. M. Needler fut transporté par la vue d’un tel trésor; les volumes furent ouverts sur-le-champ et tous les musiciens jouèrent les douze concertos au complet, sans se lever de leurs chaises.

Vers la fin des années 1730, George Frideric Handel commençait à goûter les fruits du succès avec ses productions d’oratorios en anglais dans les théâtres londoniens. Ces productions se devaient d’être agrémentées de plusieurs concertos; afin d’y pourvoir, Handel compila donc un recueil de douze concertos grossos, ou « Grand Concertos », sur le modèle de l’opus 6 de Corelli, toujours populaire. Les douze furent tous complétés en dedans d’un mois à l’automne 1739 et publiés sous le numéro d’opus 6 par l’éditeur d’Handel, John Walsh. La structure des œuvres de Handel est moins clairement définie que celle de Corelli, de même que la distinction entre les groupes concertino et ripieno, alors qu’il fait souvent jouer l’orchestre avec le concertino à la fois dans les passages expressifs et les passages virtuoses.

Alors que Stradella et Corelli étaient occupés à Rome avec le développement du concerto grosso, Torelli à Bologne et Vivaldi à Venise se consacraient au genre qu’on associe plus communément au mot concerto: une forme en trois mouvements où un mouvement lent est encadré de deux mouvements vifs, tous mettant en lumière la virtuosité d’un ou de plusieurs solistes. Les mouvements suivent la forme avec ritournelle, où l’orchestre reprend le thème initial, en tout ou en partie et dans des tonalités diverses, en alternance avec des passages solo libres, souvent virtuoses. Une sorte de rivalité amicale s’établit entre le soliste et l’orchestre, établissant ainsi peut-être une synthèse parfaite des idées contrastantes de concurrence et d’accord qu’on retrouvait dans les origines du mot « concerto ».

Antonio Vivaldi a écrit quelque 500 concertos, et bien que la plupart sont pour un ou plusieurs instruments solistes et orchestre, il examina d’autres possibilités, tels le concerto ripieno, où l’orchestre joue sans soliste ni groupe concertino, et le concerto de chambre, où un petit groupe de solistes accompagné seulement par la basse continue s’unissent pour créer les ritournelles « orchestrales ». Les concertos de Vivaldi sur le présent enregistrement sont tous deux des hybrides de divers modèles de concertos. Le Concerto en la mineur, RV 536, écrit pour deux hautbois et cordes, suit la forme courante du concerto, mais s’approche par son style et sa sonorité du concerto grosso grâce au dialogue égal entre les deux hautbois et l’orchestre à cordes plutôt qu’une dynamique de solistes avec accompagnement. Le Concerto pour quatre violons en mi mineur est l’une des quatre œuvres faisant appel à quatre solistes incluses dans la première parution de concertos instrumentaux de Vivaldi, L’estro armonico (L’Invention harmonique), publiée en 1711. Ici, dans une sorte de concerto de chambre élargi, les quatre solistes sont accompagnés par un alto, un violoncelle, une contrebasse et la basse continue. Les concertos pour quatre violons ont sans doute été inspirés par l’abondance de violonistes de talent, étudiants et professeurs, qu’on retrouvait à la Pietà, où Vivaldi était employé dès 1704. L’estro armonico est vite devenu un recueil extrêmement populaire, établissant fermement la réputation de Vivaldi comme l’un des compositeurs les plus populaires de sa génération.

Le Concerto pour basson en do mineur de Fasch est également une sorte de concerto hybride. Johann Friedrich Fasch a été Kapellmeister à la cour d’Anhalt à Zerbst de 1722 jusqu’à sa mort en 1758. Un compositeur prolifique de musique d’orchestre, Fasch avait un penchant marqué pour les instruments à vent. La présente œuvre associe des éléments du concerto soliste, du concerto grosso et du concerto de chambre. Le basson solo est accompagné par un orchestre qui comprend des cordes et des hautbois, ces derniers tenant souvent un rôle de concertino et se joignant à la basse continue dans plusieurs des passages solo du basson afin de créer un accompagnement en trio.

Lorsqu’il était jeune, Johann Sebastian Bach avait entrepris l’étude approfondie de concertos par Vivaldi, Marcello, Albinoni et d’autres, en en transcrivant plusieurs pour clavier seul. Lorsque plus tard il composa ses propres concertos pour instrument soliste est orchestre, il se remit souvent à la technique de la transcription, en se servant la plupart du temps cependant de ses propres œuvres comme modèles. Plusieurs des concertos pour clavecin, par exemple, sont des transcriptions de sinfonias de cantates écrites à l’origine pour orgue et orchestre. Bien que Bach ait fréquemment utilisé des instruments à vent comme solistes dans ses cantates, ses passions et ses célèbres Concertos brandebourgeois, il ne nous est parvenu aucun concerto pour instrument à vent solo. Jeanne Lamon s’est tournée vers les cantates de Bach afin de créer un « nouveau » concerto pour hautbois d’amour, en transcrivant la partie vocale soliste de trois arias avec accompagnement de cordes et de basse continue. Les première et troisième arias ont été initialement écrites pour voix de basse, et sont tirées des cantates 100 et 30 respectivement. Les deux sont écrites sur des textes édifiants: « Was Got tut, das ist wohlgetan, er ist mein Licht, mein Leben » (Ce que Dieu fait est bien fait, Il est ma lumière et ma vie) et « Gelobet sei Gott, gelobet sein Name, der treulich gehalten Verspechen und Eid! » (Loué soit Dieu, loué soit son nom, loué soit Dieu qui a fidèlement tenu promesse et serment !). Le mouvement central est tiré de l’aria d’ouverture de la Cantate 170 pour alto solo, « Vergnügte Ruh, beliebte Seelenlust » (Heureuse paix, bien-aimée joie du cœur). Dans chaque mouvement, le hautboïste John Abberger a adapté les lignes vocales solo pour le hautbois d’amour, les agrémentant d’articulations, de figures et d’ornements idiomatiques.

Bien que le violoncelle dans le concerto solo baroque ait habituellement été confiné à la basse continue d’accompagnement, quelques compositeurs, dont Vivaldi et Leo, ont permis au violoncelle de briller dans un rôle de premier plan. Leonardo Leo fut l’un des principaux compositeurs napolitains de son temps. Né près de Brindisi en 1694, il se rendit en 1709 étudier à Naples au Conservatorio S. Maria della Pietà dei Turchini. Il demeura à Naples jusqu’à sa mort, y occupant divers postes dans des églises et des conservatoires tout en composant sans discontinuer des opéras, des cantates, des oratorios et d’autres œuvres sacrées. Il n’a composé qu’une petite quantité de musique instrumentale: six concertos pour violoncelle, un concerto pour quatre violons et basse continue et plusieurs pièces pour clavecin seul. Les plus remarquables de ses œuvres instrumentales sont ses concertos pour violoncelle, dédiés à Domenico Marzio Caraffa, duc de Maddaloni de 1716 à 1770 et grand amateur de cet instrument. L’écriture de Leo pour le violoncelle est d’une approche presque vocale, exploitant le lyrisme naturel et les capacités expressives de l’instrument.

© Charlotte Nediger

Lire la suite

À propos

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
AN 6 1032
AN 6 1032
AN 6 1032

Start typing and press Enter to search