fbpx
FL 2 3136

J.S. Bach: Coffee Cantata; Peasant Cantata

Release date September 12, 2000
Album code FL 2 3136
Periods Baroque

Album information

The Coffee Cantata

The Coffee Cantata was written c.1734 to a text by the Leipzig poet Christian Friedrich Henrici, who under the pseudonym Picander published several volumes entitled Ernst-schertzhaffte und satyrische Gedichte (“Gravely droll and satirical poems”).

Coffee had recently become popular in Germany, and Leipzig’s coffee houses were particularly fashionable. Zimmermann’s Coffee House was the home of Leipzig’s Collegium Musicum, an association of musicians and university students founded by Telemann in 1702. Bach assumed direction of the Collegium in 1729, six years after moving to Leipzig. Concerts were presented weekly at the Coffee House: in the winter on Fridays from eight to ten o’clock, and in the summer, transferred to the garden, on Wednesdays from four to six o’clock.

The light-hearted Coffee Cantata was written for the Collegium. The text pokes fun at both the infatuated young coffee-lovers and the righteous “old guard,” who could see nothing but evil in the new beverage. The story is simple: Lieschen (Lizzy), a young town girl, has fallen madly in love with coffee, and will sacrifice anything for her “three cups a day.” Her father Schlendrian, a name which translates roughly as “Old Stick-in-the-Mud,” is just as determined to keep his daughter from the wicked drink. The capricious Lieschen is accompanied by the wistful flute, while the stubborn Schlendrian is accompanied by an ostinato bass. Only when her father threatens to forbid her from marrying does Lieschen change her mind.

Picander’s poem ends here, but Bach sees in Lieschen a more cunning girl, and adds the final recitative and chorus, in which Lieschen declares her plan to marry no man unless he first signs a contract allowing her all the coffee she wishes. Bach was, after all, writing the cantata for performance at Herr Zimmermann’s Coffee House—and Bach was known to enjoy his own “three cups a day!”

The Peasant Cantata

The Peasant Cantata was commissioned by Carl Heinrich von Dieskau, Superintendent of Tax Collection in the Leipzig District. In August 1742 a ceremony was held on his estate at Klein-Zschocher near Leipzig. He had just come into a large inheritance, and his tenants were invited to join in the celebration and to offer their customary marks of homage. Dieskau asked Bach to compose a cantata for the occasion. Picander once again provided the text, this time written in a rather earthy upper Saxon dialect.

Bach responded in kind, writing in a musical style that reflects both the dialect and the content of the text. He referred to the work as a “cantate burlesque,” and incorporated traditional German and Polish folk tunes into the rustic opening sinfonia and several of the arias. The dialogue between the soprano and bass also gave Bach the opportunity to poke fun at the new trends in music of the day: simplicity and directness on the one hand, and elaborate mannerisms on the other.

The Coffee and Peasant Cantatas offer a rare glimpse into a side of Bach’s character that is often forgotten: the great genius of baroque music had a lively sense of humour, and a taste for both coffee and beer!

© Charlotte Nediger

Read more

About

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
AN 2 9987-8
AN 2 9987-8

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
FL 2 3136

J.S. Bach: Cantate du café; Cantate des paysans

Date de sortie 12 septembre 2000
Numéro de l'album FL 2 3136
Periodes Baroque

Informations sur l'album

La Cantate du café

La Cantate du café fut composée vers 1734 sur un texte du poète leipzigois Christian Friedrich Henrici qui, sous le pseudonyme de Picander, avait publié plusieurs volumes intitulés Ernst-schertzhaffte und satyrische Gedichte (« Poèmes gravement drôles et satyriques »).

Le goût du café avait récemment pris l’Allemagne d’assaut et les cafés de Leipzig étaient alors particulièrement à la mode. Le Café Zimmermann de cette ville accueillait le Collegium Musicum, une association de musiciens et d’étudiants universitaires fondée par Telemann en 1702. J.S. Bach en assuma la direction en 1729, six ans après son arrivée à Leipzig. Des concerts étaient présentés hebdomadairement au Café: en hiver les vendredis de 20 heures à 22 heures, et en été, dans les jardins, les mercredis de 16 heures à 18 heures.

Cette cantate enjouée a été composée pour le Collegium. Son texte se moque à la fois des jeunes entichés du café et de la « vieille garde » rigide qui ne voit que du mal au nouveau breuvage. L’histoire en est toute simple: Lieschen (Lisette), une jeune fille de la ville, est tombée follement amoureuse du café; elle est prête à tout sacrifier pour ses « trois tasses quotidiennes ». Son père, Schlendrian — un nom qui pourrait se traduire par « Vieux Barbon » —, est tout aussi déterminé à préserver sa fille de cette odieuse boisson. La capricieuse Lieschen est accompagnée par une flûte langoureuse tandis que le père têtu est accompagné par une basse obstinée. Lieschen ne change d’avis que lorsque son père la menace de lui interdire son mariage.

Le poème de Picander se termine à cet endroit, mais Bach voit en Lieschen une fille bien plus astucieuse. Il rajoute le récitatif et le chœur finals où Lieschen déclare qu’elle n’épouserait que l’homme qui signerait au préalable un contrat lui autorisant de boire tout le café qu’elle désire. Bach, après tout, a destiné cette cantate au Café Zimmermann — et on sait que Bach lui-même savourait ses « trois tasses quotidiennes »!

La Cantate des paysans

La Cantate des paysans fut composée sur une commande de Carl Heinrich von Dieskau, surintendant des impôts du district de Leipzig. En août 1742, une cérémonie fut organisée sur son domaine à Klein-Zschocher, près de Leipzig. Il venait de toucher un gros héritage et ses métayers furent invités à se joindre aux réjouissances et à offrir leurs traditionnels témoignages de respect. Dieskau demanda à Bach de composer une cantate pour la circonstance. Picander contribua de nouveau le texte, écrit cette fois dans un dialecte haut-saxon plutôt truculent.

J.S. Bach répondit à ce texte de manière idoine en composant une musique qui reflète à la fois le dialecte et le sujet. Il qualifia cette œuvre de « cantate burlesque » et incorpora des mélodies folkloriques allemandes et polonaises dans l’agreste sinfonia d’ouverture ainsi que dans quelques airs. Les dialogues entre le soprano et la basse offrent aussi à Bach l’occasion de se rire des dernières tendances en musique: d’une part la simplicité et le caractère direct, et d’autre part les maniérismes élaborés.

La Cantate du café et la Cantate des paysans nous laissent entrevoir un aspect trop souvent oublié du caractère de J.S. Bach: ce grand génie de la musique baroque avait un sens de l’humour bien aiguisé… et un penchant pour le café et la bière!

© Charlotte Nediger
Traduction: Jacques-André Houle

Lire la suite

À propos

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
AN 2 9763
AN 2 9763

Start typing and press Enter to search