fbpx
AN 2 9878

J.S. Bach: Cantatas BWV 54 & 170; Concerto BWV 1060; Orchestral Suite No. 2

Release date October 04, 2011
Album code AN 2 9878
Periods Baroque

Album information

Johann Sebastian Bach composed a dozen church cantatas for a single solo voice, including four for alto: BWV 54, 170, 35 and 169. Cantatas 54 and 170 are both settings of texts by the Darmstadt court poet, Georg Christian Lehms, from his 1711 cycle of cantata texts, Gottgefälliges Kirchen-Opffer. Cantata 54 is a setting of the text “Widerstehe doch der Sünde,” (Resist to sin) reminding the listener of the dangers of sin. It is one of Bach’s early cantatas, composed in Weimar, where Bach was employed as court organist and chamber musician. It is scored for an ensemble of two violins, two violas and continuo, used by Bach to create a wonderfully rich sound in the opening aria, featuring an astonishingly sinful opening chord. The final aria is a fugue with a chromatic subject, rigorously exhorting the listener to remain steadfast.

Cantata 170 dates from Bach’s third annual cycle of cantatas written as Kapellmeister of the Thomaskirche in Leipzig, and was first performed on the sixth Sunday after Trinity (July 28) in 1726. It is the first in a series of cantatas written at this time that feature the organ in a solo role, written perhaps for Bach’s eldest son, Wilhelm Friedemann, or possibly played by the composer himself. The cantata opens with a beautiful aria in a lilting 12/8, depicting the “delightful rest” to be found in the “concord of Heaven.” A recitative leads to a convoluted aria in which the solo organ and singer are accompanied not by the continuo, but by violins and viola playing the bass line in unison. The twisting, chromatic lines of the organ are interrupted by bursts of elaborate figuration by both the organ and voice at the texts “wenn sie sich nur an Rach und Haß erfreun” (when they rejoice only in vengeance and hate) and “so frech verlacht” (so boldly scorn). The final aria offers delight in the prospect of leaving the world behind, with an almost giddy organ obbligato. The cantata would have been played on the large church organ at St. Thomas’s, and the second aria is specifically written to be played on two manuals, with numerous hand-crossings. We did not have access to a baroque church organ for this recording, but were fortunate to have use of a beautiful portative organ built by Toronto organ builder Thomas Linken, and have adapted the hand-crossings to make them playable on a single manual.

Among Bach’s instrumental works are several that attest to his frequent re-use of entire works in different settings, adapting them to circumstances. Violin concertos were turned into harpsichord concertos, and cantata sinfonias were re-worked as instrumental concertos. The clues Bach left in his own transcriptions and borrowings have fortunately enabled later generations of musicians to reconstruct lost works and to increase, at least on a small scale, his frustratingly small orchestral output. One of the most popular reconstructions is the Concerto for Oboe and Violin, which is a transcription of Bach’s Concerto for Two Harpsichords in C Minor, BWV 1060. The latter is one of three extant double-harpsichord concertos, one of which also survives in a version for two violins (the famous Concerto for Two Violins in D Minor, BWV 1049), presumed to precede the two-harpsichord version. Basing their work on this model, musicologists and musicians set about restoring the presumably lost predecessor to the Concerto in C Minor, BWV 1060. The contrasting nature of the two solo harpsichord parts leads one to assume that the original was scored for two different solo instruments, and details of figuration and range point to an oboe and violin as the logical candidates. The music publisher Breitkopf’s catalogue for the year 1764 lists a concerto by Bach for “Oboe concert. Violino conc. 2 Violini, Viola, Basso,” quite possibly a reference to the C-Minor concerto in its original form.

Like the concertos, Bach’s four extant orchestral suites have an interesting history. The musicologist Joshua Rifkin has done an extensive study of the surviving sources of the suites and has concluded that the Second, Third and Fourth Suites as we know them today are re-workings of earlier works. In the case of the Second Suite, it is clear from studying the surviving manuscript parts that it existed first in A Minor, a tone lower than the extant version in B Minor. The latter is scored for solo flute and strings, but the flute is precluded in the A-Minor version because it falls out of the range of the instrument. Rifkin has concluded that the original probably featured a solo violin in place of the flute, and that it may well have been inspired by a similar suite for violin and strings by J.S. Bach’s cousin, Johann Bernhard Bach, the score of which was in Bach’s library. The suite is the most French in style of the four and the only one that features a solo instrument.

© Charlotte Nediger

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9878

J.S. Bach: Cantates BWV 54 & 170; Concerto BWV 1060; Suite pour orchestre No. 2

Date de sortie 04 octobre 2011
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9878
Periodes Baroque

Informations sur l'album

Johann Sebastian Bach a composé une douzaine de cantates d’église pour voix soliste, dont quatre pour alto : BWV 54, 170, 35 et 169. Les Cantates 54 et 170 sont toutes deux basées sur des textes de Georg Christian Lehms, poète de la cour de Darmstadt, tirés de Gottgefälliges Kirchen-Opffer, son cycle pour cantates daté de 1711. La Cantate 54 reprend le texte « Widerstehe doch der Sünde » (Résiste au péché), rappelant les dangers du péché. L’une des premières de Bach, la cantate a été composée à Weimar, alors que Bach y travaillait comme organiste et musicien de la cour. Elle est orchestrée pour deux violons, deux altos et continuo, et s’amorce sur un accord incroyablement impur. L’aria finale, une fugue sur un sujet chromatique, exhorte avec rigueur l’auditeur à demeurer ferme.

Faisant partie du troisième cycle annuel de cantates écrit alors qu’il était Kapellmeister à la Thomaskirche de Leipzig, la Cantate 170 a été créée le sixième dimanche après la Trinité (le 28 juillet) en 1726. Elle est la première d’une série composée à l’époque mettant l’orgue au premier plan, peut-être pour Wilhelm Friedemann, l’aîné des fils Bach, ou sinon aurait été jouée par le compositeur lui-même. La cantate s’ouvre sur une magnifique aria en un chantant 12/8, dépeignant le « merveilleux repos » trouvé dans « l’harmonie du Ciel ». Un récitatif mène à une aria alambiquée dans laquelle l’orgue solo et le chanteur sont accompagnés non pas par le continuo, mais par les violons et l’alto qui jouent la ligne de basse à l’unisson. Les lignes sinueuses et chromatiques de l’orgue sont interrompues par des jaillissements élaborés tant à l’orgue qu’à la voix sur les mots « wenn sie sich nur an Rach und Haß erfreun » (quand ils se réjouissent seulement de la vengeance et la haine) et « so frech verlacht » (qui rient de façon méprisante). L’aria finale promet la joie de quitter ce monde-ci, avec un obbligato à l’orgue presque étourdissant. La cantate aurait été interprétée sur le grand orgue de l’Église Saint-Thomas et la deuxième aria spécifiquement conçue pour être jouée sur deux claviers, avec de nombreux croisements de mains. Nous ne pouvions disposer d’un orgue d’église baroque pour cet enregistrement, mais avons eu la chance de pouvoir utiliser un superbe orgue portatif construit par le facteur d’orgues torontois Thomas Linken et avons adapté les croisements de mains afin de pouvoir transmettre la partition sur un seul clavier.

Quand on étudie les œuvres instrumentales de Bach, on peut affirmer avec certitude que ce dernier réutilisait fréquemment des œuvres entières en les présentant autrement, les adaptant aux circonstances. Des concertos pour violon sont devenus des concertos pour clavecin, et des sinfonias extraites de cantates des concertos instrumentaux. Les indices laissés par Bach dans ses propres transcriptions et emprunts ont heureusement permis aux générations suivantes de musiciens de reconstruire des œuvres perdues et d’enrichir, même à petite échelle, sa sinon désespérément limitée production orchestrale. L’une de ces reconstructions les plus populaires reste celle du Concerto pour hautbois et violon, transcription du Concerto pour deux clavecins en do mineur de Bach, BWV 1060. Ce dernier est l’un des trois concertos pour deux clavecins existants, l’un de ceux-ci ayant également survécu en version pour deux violons (le célèbre Concerto pour deux violons en mineur, BWV 1049), présumée antérieure à celle pour deux clavecins. En s’inspirant de ce modèle, les musicologues et les musiciens se sont mis à restaurer le vraisemblablement perdu prédécesseur du Concerto en do mineur, BWV 1060. La nature contrastante des deux parties solistes pour clavecin nous porte à croire que l’original aurait été arrangé pour deux instruments solistes différents; la réalisation de la basse chiffrée et la tessiture nous permettent de supposer qu’un hautbois et un violon auraient été un choix logique ici. Le catalogue de l’éditeur Breitkopf de l’année 1764 mentionne un concerto de Bach sous ces termes : « Concerto pour hautbois. Concerto pour violon, 2 violons, alto, basse », possiblement une référence au concerto en do mineur dans sa forme originale.

Tout comme les concertos, les quatre suites orchestrales de Bach qui subsistent possèdent une histoire intéressante. Le musicologue Joshua Rifkin a fait une étude approfondie des sources restantes des suites et a conclu que, telles que nous les connaissons aujourd’hui, les deuxième, troisième et quatrième se veulent des réécritures d’œuvres antérieures. Dans le cas de la Deuxième Suite, il est évident lorsque l’on se penche sur les manuscrits existants qu’elle a d’abord existé en la mineur, un ton plus bas que la version mieux connue en si mineur. Cette dernière est orchestrée pour flûte solo et cordes, mais on doit éliminer l’utilisation possible de la flûte dans la version en la mineur, la tessiture de l’œuvre dépassant celle de l’instrument. Rifkin a conclu que l’original avait donc été conçu pour un violon solo plutôt qu’une flûte et qu’elle aurait bien pu s’inspirer d’une suite semblable pour violon et cordes du cousin de J.S. Bach, Johann Bernhard Bach, partition qui se trouvait dans la bibliothèque Bach. Côté style, la suite est la plus française des quatre et la seule à mettre en lumière un instrument soliste.

© Charlotte Nediger
Traduction de Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
AN 2 9835
AN 2 9835

Start typing and press Enter to search