fbpx
AN 2 9947

Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 7 & 8 (+ DVD BONUS)

Release date October 14, 2008
Album code AN 2 9947
Periods Romantic

Album information

Following their recording of Beethoven’s Symphonies Nos. 5 & 6 (winner of the JUNO for “Classical Album Of the Year: Large Ensemble”), Tafelmusik Orchestra directed by Maestro Bruno Weil presents Beethoven’s Seventh and Eighth Symphonies. Bruno Weil’s renown as one of the leading conductors of Viennese classical music has been established through guest appearances with major international orchestras and numerous recordings.

Seventh and Eighth Symphonies by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) were completed in close succession during the spring and summer of 1812. Like fraternal twins, the two works have outwardly different characters – drama and comedy, respectively – but the proximity of their conception is revealed in many technical details and procedures.

Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92

The premiere of the Seventh Symphony, on December 8, 1813, was part of a benefit concert for Austrian and Bavarian soldiers wounded in the Napoleonic wars. Johann Nepomuk Maelzel, Court Mechanician to the Hapsburgs, organized the event. The man now remembered for perfecting and patenting the metronome persuaded Beethoven to write a patriotic piece for his newest mechanical instrument, the “Panharmonicum.” The result was Wellington’s Victory, fully orchestrated with cannons, martial music, and quotations from national themes like God Save the Queen. Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony and a demonstration of Maelzel’s mechanical trumpet rounded out the programme. Beethoven led an orchestra comprised of Vienna’s most esteemed musicians, including the violinists Schuppanzigh and Spohr, the bassist Dragonetti, and the composer Meyerbeer playing bass drum. Hummel and the aged Salieri assisted by directing the cannon fire!

The concert was a great success, inspiring applause “to the point of ecstasy,” and was repeated twice during the coming weeks. The Allegretto from the Seventh Symphony was encored at each performance, and soon appeared in print in all kinds of arrangements. Having fallen out with Maelzel over money, Beethoven planned the next Akademie for his sole benefit on February 27, 1814. The programme again included the Seventh Symphony and Wellington’s Victory, but also offered the Eighth for the first time. The newer work was not received with the same enthusiasm as the Seventh, but Beethoven commented to Czerny that this was because the Eighth was “much better.”

Among many attempts to attach symbolic and programmatic meaning to the Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony, Wagner’s description of it as “the Apotheosis of the Dance” is often cited. Actual dance music it is not, but rhythm is the essence of its character, serving as a unifying element within each movement and the driving force for the entire work.

Beginning with a broad introduction of unprecedented length, Beethoven seems to be testing the musical raw materials for the coming movements. Grandiose rising scales suggest architectural framing. Unusual key relationships, notably with the remote keys of F Major and C Major, are foreshadowed here. The interval of the descending half step, germane to the entire symphony, is outlined in the chromatically descending bass line, particularly between F and E. Throughout the symphony, E is prominent in melodies as well as bass notes, and near the end of this introduction it becomes an obsession, passed back and forth without harmony between woodwinds and violins. Finally, it is ignited by the dancing, dotted 6/8 rhythm that propels the entire Vivace.

The Allegretto is essentially a set of variations. After a plaintive chord in the winds, the low strings begin the dirge-like theme with its insistent rhythm. The variations build in complexity, culminating in a fugato, but are twice relieved by relatively tranquil interludes in A Major. Even these episodes do not escape the inexorable rhythm in the bass.

The Presto has the expanded five-part scherzo structure (ABABA) typical of Beethoven’s middle period. The central appearance of the scherzo, marked sempre piano, creates an echo effect. The pastoral trio features the winds, with the violins creating a high drone. Far below, a persistent horn recalls and transforms the principal motive. The coda offers a brief reminiscence of the trio before the abrupt but decisive ending.

In the finale, sonata form and infectious rhythmic devices conspire for a movement of unceasing exuberance. Again, the note E takes on significance as a bass pedal point. In the gargantuan coda, after gradually descending by half steps, the basses again settle on E, alternating with D-sharp, increasing the suspense as the movement drives to its triumphant conclusion.

Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op. 93

While the Seventh Symphony is expansive in form and seems to point to the future, the Eighth Symphony, Beethoven’s shortest, reverts to more classic proportions. This concise work, full of surprising contrasts, is rich in musical jokes, ranging from subtle tongue-in-cheek to Rabelaisian. Could this humor represent Beethoven’s own brusque character in conflict with the conventional world? According to Sir George Grove, “it is a portrait of the author in daily life, in his habit as he lived.”

Unlike the Seventh, the Eighth Symphony bursts forth without an introduction. The compact first theme group in F Major leads unexpectedly to the key of D Major for the second theme. After some hesitation, the theme is repeated in the traditional dominant key of C Major. A sequence of broken octaves closes the exposition and provides a linking device between various stages of the development. Bold modulations and sharply accented canonic interplay build to a level of unbearable tension. The recapitulation arrives at the rarely used level of triple forte, with the bass instruments laboring to project the theme from below. The movement ends with unexpected grace, with the same two-bar fragment that opened the movement serving as the closing cadence, a technique cultivated by Haydn.

A genial Allegretto scherzando replaces the customary slow movement. Mechanically ticking woodwinds accompany a coquettish dialogue in the strings. Although once believed to be a tribute to Maelzel’s metronome, this idea has proved to be a myth fashioned by Beethoven’s imaginative biographer Schindler. The comical ending, with its quick crescendo and formulaic cadential pattern, could be Beethoven’s parody of frivolous Italian opera.

In the Tempo di Menuetto, Beethoven recalls the conventions of the past, eschewing the more fashionable scherzo, but seems to mock them by burdening a graceful theme with heavy accents and rhythmic ambiguity. An apparent joke of Beethoven’s occurs near the end of the main section, when the timpanist, usually faithfully wedded to the brass, seems to get stuck two beats behind. The bucolic trio features the solo clarinet and horns, while the cellos sketch an intricate counterpoint in arpeggiated triplets.

In the Allegro vivace finale, a hybrid of sonata and rondo forms, Beethoven plays some of his crudest musical pranks, alternating with moments of surprising tenderness. Beginning quietly, the orchestra drops to the extremely soft ppp level, setting up an explosively dissonant C-sharp blast, followed by a laughing, full volume repetition of the opening theme. Not until the extended coda does the C-sharp succeed, after insistent repetitions, in causing a wild detour to the remote key of F-sharp Minor. Then the brass and timpani enter decisively, hammering out F-naturals, guiding all to the home key.

© Allen Whear 2008

Read more

About

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
Bruno Weil
AN 2 9987-8

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9947

Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 7 & 8 (+ BONUS DVD)

Date de sortie 14 octobre 2008
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9947
Periodes Romantique
Genres Orchestre de chambre

Informations sur l'album

Faisant suite à leur enregistrement des symphonies de Beethoven Nos. 5 & 6 (gagnant du JUNO catégorie  » Album classique de l’année : grand orchestre « ), Tafelmusik Orchestra dirigé par Bruno Weil présente ici les Septième et Huitième Symphonies de Beethoven. Chef invité de plusieurs des grands orchestres du monde, ayant de nombreux enregistrements à son actif, Bruno Weil est internationalement reconnu comme un leader dans le répertoire du classicisme viennois.

Au printemps et à l’été 1812, Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) complète, presque simultanément, ses Septième et Huitième Symphonies. Tout comme des jumeaux fraternels, ces deux œuvres possèdent des personnalités en apparence différentes – drame et comédie, respectivement – mais nombre de détails et de procédés techniques révèlent la proximité de leur conception.

Symphonie no 7 en la majeur, op. 92

La Septième Symphonie a été créée le 8 décembre 1813, lors d’un concert-bénéfice organisé pour les soldats autrichiens et bavarois blessés lors des guerres napoléoniennes par Johann Nepomuk Maelzel, mécanicien de la cour des Hapsbourgs. Cet homme dont on se souvient aujourd’hui comme celui ayant perfectionné et breveté le métronome avait persuadé Beethoven d’écrire une pièce patriotique pour son plus récent instrument mécanique, le  » Panharmonicum « . Beethoven se plia à la requête et commit la Victoire de Wellington, orchestrée avec canons, musique militaire et citations d’hymnes nationaux tels God Save the Queen. La Septième Symphonie et une démonstration de la trompette mécanique de Maelzel complétaient le programme. Beethoven menait un orchestre formé des musiciens les plus renommés de Vienne, dont les violonistes Schuppanzigh et Spohr, le contrebassiste Dragonetti et le compositeur Meyerbeer à la grosse caisse. Hummel et le vieux Salieri secondaient même les opérations en orientant le tir du canon!

Le concert connut un succès énorme, suscitant les applaudissements  » jusqu’à l’extase  » du public, et devait être repris deux fois dans les semaines qui suivirent. L’Allegretto de la Septième Symphonie ayant été bissée lors de chacun des concerts, de nombreux arrangements du mouvement furent bientôt édités. Après une dispute avec Maelzel au sujet de non-paiement de sommes, Beethoven planifia la prochaine Akademie du 27 février 1814 pour amasser des fonds personnels. Là encore, le programme comprenait la Septième Symphonie et la Victoire de Wellington mais Beethoven y intégra la Huitième Symphonie, créée lors de l’occasion. La nouvelle œuvre ne devait pas être reçue avec le même enthousiasme que la Septième mais Beethoven glissa à Czerny que c’était parce que la Huitième était  » bien meilleure « .

Plusieurs ont tenté d’intégrer un sous-texte programmatique ou symbolique à la Septième Symphonie et la description de Wagner,  » l’apothéose de la danse « , a souvent été citée. Si l’œuvre ne se veut pas musique de danse, le rythme en est pourtant l’essence même, élément unificateur de chaque mouvement et force maîtresse du tout.

L’œuvre s’amorce par une vaste introduction, d’une longueur sans précédent jusque là, dans laquelle Beethoven semble tester les matériaux de base qui formeront les mouvements qui suivront. Les grandioses gammes ascendantes suggèrent une structure architecturale. Des manipulations inusitées de tonalité, notamment l’utilisation des tons éloignés de fa et do majeur, y sont esquissées. La ligne chromatique descendante des contrebasses dessine l’intervalle de demi-ton descendant, part intrinsèque de toute la symphonie, particulièrement celui entre fa et mi. À travers toute la symphonie, le mi reviendra d’ailleurs très souvent dans les lignes mélodiques de même qu’à la basse et, presque à la fin de cette introduction, il devient obsession alors que, sans soutien harmonique, les vents et les violons se le partagent. Il s’enflamme enfin grâce au rythme dansant, pointé, en 6/8, qui propulse tout le Vivace.

L’Allegretto est essentiellement une série de variations. Après un accord plaintif aux vents, les cordes graves amorcent leur thème au rythme insistant, presque funèbre. Les variations se complexifient, culminant en un fugato, mais l’intensité est brisée à deux reprises par des interludes en la majeur, plutôt paisibles. Ces épisodes, pourtant, n’échappent pas au rythme inexorable de la basse.

Le Presto reprend la structure du scherzo en cinq parties (ABABA), si typique du Beethoven de la période médiane. La présentation centrale du scherzo, notée sempre piano, crée un effet d’écho. Le trio pastoral met en lumière les vents, les violons créant un faux-bourdon à l’aigu. Bien au-dessous, un cor persistant convoque et transforme le motif principal. La coda offre un bref rappel du trio avant la fin abrupte mais déterminante.

Dans le finale, la forme sonate et les procédés rythmiques contagieux s’unissent en un mouvement d’une incessante exubérance. Encore une fois, la note mi est importante en tant que pédale à la basse. Dans la coda gargantuesque, après avoir progressé par demi-tons descendants, les contrebasses se posent encore une fois sur le mi, en alternance avec le ré dièse, intensifiant le suspense alors que le mouvement se jette dans sa conclusion triomphante.

Symphonie no 8 en fa majeur, op. 93

Alors que la Septième Symphonie est de forme expansive et semble pointer vers l’avenir, la Huitième Symphonie, la plus courte des symphonies de Beethoven, retrouve des proportions plus classiques. Cette œuvre concise, pleine de contrastes surprenants, est parsemée d’humour musical, passant du très subtil au rabelaisien. Cet humour pourrait-il représenter l’opposition entre la personnalité brusque de Beethoven et le monde conventionnel qui l’entoure? Selon Sir George Grove,  » c’est un portrait de l’auteur au quotidien, de ses habitudes de vie « .

Contrairement à la Septième, la Huitième Symphonie fuse, sans introduction. Le compact premier groupe thématique en fa majeur nous mène à l’improviste vers la tonalité de ré majeur. Après quelques hésitations, le deuxième thème est répété dans le ton traditionnel de la dominante, do majeur. Une séquence d’octaves brisées clôt l’exposition et offre un lien entre les différentes sections du développement. Des modulations audacieuses et un dialogue en canon, fortement accentué, nous mènent à un niveau de tension insoutenable. La réexposition est présentée triple forte, un choix inusité, les instruments graves tentant de projeter le thème à travers la masse sonore. Le mouvement s’achève avec une grâce inespérée, le même fragment de deux mesures amorçant le mouvement servant de cadence finale, une technique cultivée par Haydn.

Un Allegretto scherzando génial remplace le mouvement lent attendu. Des vents cliquetant mécaniquement accompagnent un coquet dialogue des cordes. L’imagination fertile de Schindler, biographe de Beethoven, avait jadis évoqué que ce mouvement se voulait un hommage au métronome de Maelzel. L’amusante conclusion, avec son crescendo rapide et sa formule cadentielle, pourrait se vouloir une parodie beethovenienne des opéras italiens frivoles.

Dans le Tempo di Menuetto, Beethoven retrouve les repères du passé, évitant le plus populaire scherzo, mais semble s’en moquer en y alourdissant un thème gracieux d’accents lourds et d’ambiguïté rythmique. Un clin d’œil humoristique de Beethoven survient à la fin de la section principale alors que le timbalier, généralement fidèlement lié aux cuivres, semble en retard de deux temps. Le trio bucolique présente la clarinette solo et les cors, alors que les violoncelles dessinent un contrepoint tortueux en triolets arpégés.

Dans l’Allegro vivace final, un hybride entre les formes sonate et rondo, Beethoven nous y joue certains de ses plus vilains tours musicaux, tout en y intégrant des moments d’une surprenante tendresse. Après un début tout en douceur, l’orchestre se fond dans un très doux ppp, préparatif à une dissonante explosion sur do dièse, suivie d’une répétition rieuse du thème d’ouverture, énoncé à plein volume. Même après des répétitions insistantes, le do dièse devra attendra jusqu’à la vaste coda pour enfin permettre un brusque détournement vers la tonalité éloignée de fa dièse mineur. Les cuivres et timbales entrent enfin résolument, martelant fa bécarre, afin de guider le mouvement vers la tonalité principale.

© Allen Whear
Traduction de Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra
AN 2 9765-6
AN 2 9765-6

Start typing and press Enter to search