fbpx
AN 2 9948

Purcell: Here Let my Life

Release date October 02, 2007
Album code AN 2 9948
Periods Baroque

Album information

Henry Purcell and the English Restoration

On April 4, 1660, Charles II made known his acceptance of the crown of England in the Declaration of Breda. The Declaration was drawn up by Charles and his three advisors, Edward Hyde (1st Earl of Clarendon), John Butler (1st Duke of Ormond) and Sir Edward Nicholas (English Statesman). It structured to detail the terms by which Charles hoped to assume “the possession of that right which God and Nature hath made our due”. The Convention Parliament thus met on April 25, 1660, and days later, on May 8, it proclaimed Charles II as the lawful King and Monarch since the execution in January 1649 of the former King Charles I. With the ascension to the throne of Charles II came the end of the puritanism of the commonwealth.

It was at this time that the Court of the King set an example of musical patronage to its subjects, offering a valuable stage for composers and musicians and inviting select performers to be included on the royal payroll. Thus, odes for weddings and birthdays, the welcome of dignitaries as well as other distinguished occasions offered an opportunity for composers to be featured. This lead to the rise of two important activities that continue to this day: the introduction of the public concert and the formal presentation of opera. Over the next half-century, the Church, bereft of choristers as a consequence of the neglect of the Chapel Royal, restored its standing thus supplying a remarkable wealth of artists among whom Henry Purcell proved to be a most important figure.

Dr. Charles Burney in 1789, writing in an anthology of Purcell songs entitled Orpheus Britannicus, commented: “There is a latent power in [Purcell’s] expression of English words… And this pleasure is communicated to us, not by symmetry or rhythm of modern melody, but by this having fortified, lengthened and tuned the true accents of our mother tongue.” Henry Purcell is particularly admired as one of England’s most prolific song composers. Purcell was born in St Ann’s Lane, Old Pye Street, Westminster. His father, Henry Purcell, was a gentleman of the Chapel Royal. Henry senior had three sons, Edward, Henry, and Daniel. Daniel Purcell (d. 1717), the youngest of the brothers, was also an accomplished composer. Henry Purcell’s father died in 1664 and thus Thomas Purcell, Henry’s kindly Uncle, became his guardian. Thomas, being a gentleman of His Majesty’s chapel, arranged admittance for Henry as a chorister. There Henry studied under Captain Henry Cooke, “master of the children” and later, his successor, Pelham Humphry.

At a young age, Purcell showed an immense talent for composition. “Sweet tyranness,” a three-part song contributed to Playford’s Catch That Catch Can, was written when he was just eight followed four years later by a work written for the King’s birthday, written in 1670, subtitled “Address of the Children of the Chapel Royal to the King, and their master, Captain Cooke… composed by Master Purcell, one of the Children of the said Chapel.”

When Purcell’s voice broke at the age of fourteen, his talents were encouraged by his appointment as assistant to the court instrument keeper and tuner of the Westminster Abbey organ. He continued his studies at Westminster School and in 1676 he was appointed organist at Westminster Abbey. In the same year he composed the music to the poet John Dryden’s Aureng-Zebe. In 1677 he wrote music to Aphra Behn’s tragedy Abdelazar, or the Moor’s Revenge. In 1679, Master Blow, organist to the King’s Chapel, resigned in favour of the young Purcell, then 22. For six years, Purcell devoted himself almost exclusively to the composition of sacred music including the work “Rejoice in the Lord.”

Purcell married in 1682 and the next year his first printed composition, Twelve Sonatas, was published. When Purcell was 24, the Musical Society, an organization of professional and amateur musicians, commissioned him to compose a work for the Festival of St. Cecilia; Purcell composed two more such Odes for this Society. He spent the next few years composing sacred music and odes for the king and the royal family. The anthems, I was Glad and My Heart is Inditing, were written for the coronation of King James II.

Puritan constraints also had created a tremendous appetite for theatre, which Purcell hastened to furnish with music. These proved so popular that they introduced what is called semi-opera, a form akin to the modern musical with incidental music and in which the dramatic action lead to song at decisive moments. As Purcell developed an enviable reputation, he fruitful relationship with the theatre resulted in compositions for D’Urfey in The Fool’s Preferment, with Dryden in Tyrannick Love and perhaps Purcell’s most successful work in the opera King Arthur. Modelled after earlier masques and semi-operas, Purcell’s opera Dido and Aeneas owes much of it’s form to Blow’s Venus and Adonis; the work represents a significant point of reference in the history of English dramatic music, its production having taken place sometime between 1688 and 1690. In 1694, for St. Cecilias’s Day, Purcell offered the first English Te Deum ever to be accompanied by Orchestra. Much of Purcell’s music for the theatre was written between 1690 and 1695, during which he provided music for forty-five spoken plays.

In Orpheus Britannicus, Henry Playford writes of “the Author’s extraordinary Talent in all sorts of Musick, but he was especially admir’d for the vocal, having a peculiar Genius to express the Energy of English words, whereby he mov’d the Passions of all of his Auditors.” The variety of Purcell’s solo songs is remarkable. Over one hundred impressive and unique solo songs survive and this total does not include his sacred services and anthems, odes, and almost one hundred and fifty songs from the theatre.

Here let my life is a superb example of the art which gained Purcell his place in music history; Purcell’s genius for word-painting and his ability to capture profound human emotion is immediately in evidence.

Music for a while (from Oedipus, 1692) features a hypnotic melody built on a modulating ground bass, the song in its most vulnerable form with solo lute accompaniment.

The Plaint, O, O let me weep! is part of the masque from Act V of Purcell’s semi-opera Fairy Queen. This is a moving lament structured over a seven-bar ground bass with the solo obbligato violin echoing the sighs of the voice and creating a seamless texture.

Between 1692 and 1695, Purcell made three arrangements of Colonel Henry Hevingham’s If music be the food of love: the first setting is simple and yet features Purcell’s typically thoughtful use of melisma in the final phrase.

Crown the Altar is a splendid setting of Nahum Tate’s text from Purcell’s 1693 Birthday Ode for Queen Mary; inventive phrases with angular intervals highlighted by Purcell’s characteristic use of rhetoric results in a remarkable song.

Memorable also is Purcell’s sensitive treatment of declamatory writing in In the Black Dismal Dungeon; here dramatic opening phrases usher in more tuneful sections, the text reflected by fluctuating and shifting harmonies.

Come Ye Sons of Art, the sixth of such odes composed by Purcell, was written for the 33rd birthday of Queen Mary in 1694. The author of the words is not known though surely it is Purcell’s music that makes this a work of celebration.

Sound the trumpet is a duet from the last of the six Birthday Odes. Here the text is given glorious treatment, set on a modulating ground bass with lively harpsichord accompaniment. Robert King suggests that, with trumpets actually not being played during the duet, the repeated phrase “you make the listening shores resound” may have been a sly reference to the famous trumpeters William and Matthias Shore, since they were in attendance and playing in the orchestra during the first performances of the Ode.

In Vain the Am’rous flute is taken from the Ode for St. Cecilia’s Day, set in 1692. Here “seraphic flames and heavenly love” are depicted with Purcell’s customary thoughtfulness by the intertwined “sighing” recorders and gentle voices.

The cause of Henry Purcell’s death in 1695 was likely pneumonia or tuberculosis although historians also offer the theory that Purcell came home late one night from the theatre to find his wife gone to bed and the door, perhaps unintentionally, was locked. He died days later at his house at the Dean’s Yard in Westminster at the age of 37. His “Loving Wife, Frances Purcell” and three of his six children survived him. Purcell’s old friends Dryden and Blow wrote an ode for his funeral (“Mark how the lark and linnet sing”) and the epitaph on his grave: “Here lyes Henry Purcell Esq., who left this life and is gone to that blessed place where only his harmony can be exceeded.”

Dryden went on to become famous for those words, so famous that the period referred to as the Restoration is said to end in the year of his death, 1700. We from our modern world now look back with sadness and wonder. The Restoration was a hopeful age, an age that was measured by the rise of a king and ended with the death of a poet. We live in a society that often does not value its history and wrenches us loose from so much that can give us meaning We now live in a society that yearns for horizons of significance and hope.

Concerto on the Death of Henry Purcell (M. Maute)

Matthias is recognized as one of the foremost recorder players of his generation and has an international reputation for his talents as composer. His compositions, printed by various publishers, are frequently heard at concerts in Europe and North America. He presents his Concerto, in four movements (Affetuoso, Allegro, Lameneto, Allegro) in these words: “The Concerto on the Death of Henry Purcell is written in the musical language of the 1720s and is a vibrant homage to Henry Purcell. In the third movement, you will hear a quote from Purcell’s famous Chaconne for two recorders and basso continuo in which, above the descending bass line, a flute canon develops marvellously. The Concerto on the Death of Henry Purcell includes a similar canon, based this time on an ascending line from the bass.”

© Dan Taylor

Read more

About

AN 2 8835 Ground Midnight
AN 2 8835 Ground Midnight
AN 2 8835 Ground Midnight
AN 2 8835 Ground Midnight

Start typing and press Enter to search

Beethoven: Sonates pour violon et piano / Violin Sonatas Nos. 6, 7 & 8 | Andrew Wan & Charles Richard-Hamelin

fbpx
AN 2 9948

Purcell: Here Let my Life

Date de sortie 02 octobre 2007
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9948
Periodes Baroque

Informations sur l'album

Henry Purcell et la Restauration anglaise

Le 4 avril 1660, dans sa Déclaration de Breda, Charles II signifiait publiquement qu’il acceptait la couronne d’Angleterre. La Déclaration fut rédigée par Charles et trois de ses conseillers, Edward Hyde (premier comte de Clarendon), John Butler (premier duc d’Ormond) et Sir Edward Nicholas (homme d’état anglais). Ceux-ci ont dû porter un soin féroce aux termes par lesquels Charles espérait s’arroger  » la possession du droit que Dieu et la Nature avaient fait notre dû « . Le Parlement Convention qui devait se rencontrer le 25 avril 1660 puis, quelques jours plus tard, le 8 mai, proclama Charles II Roi et Monarque légitime, suite à l’exécution en janvier 1649 de l’ancien roi, Charles I. Avec l’accession au trône de Charles II vint la fin du puritanisme du commonwealth.

C’est à cette époque que la cour du roi montra l’exemple à ses sujets en instituant le patronage musical, en offrant aux compositeurs et aux musiciens une tribune d’expression privilégiée et en invitant des interprètes triés sur le volet à recevoir un salaire de la cour. Ainsi, des odes écrites pour des mariages, des anniversaires, des cérémonies de bienvenue pour dignitaires, de même que d’autres occasions distinguées, permirent aux compositeurs d’être mis en lumière. Ceci devait mener à la montée de deux activités importantes, encore pratiquées aujourd’hui : l’introduction du concert public et la présentation formelle d’opéra. Au cours du demi-siècle qui devait suivre, l’Église, privée de choristes suite à la négligence de la Chapelle Royale, rétablit sa cote en fournissant une remarquable abondance d’artistes, parmi lesquels Henry Purcell demeure certes l’une des figures les plus importantes.

En 1789, Dr Charles Burney commentait, dans une anthologie de chants de Purcell intitulée Orpheus Britannicus:  » Il y a un pouvoir latent dans l’expression des mots anglais [de Purcell]… Et le plaisir nous est transmis, non par symétrie ou rythme de la mélodie moderne, mais en fortifiant, allongeant et accordant les vrais accents de notre langue maternelle.  » Henry Purcell est particulièrement admiré comme étant l’un des compositeurs de chant les plus prolifiques d’Angleterre. Purcell est né à St. Ann’s Lane, Old Pye Street, Westminster. Son père, Henry Purcell, était gentilhomme de la Chapelle Royale. Henry senior eut trois fils : Edward, Henry et Daniel. Daniel Purcell (mort en 1717), le plus jeune des frères, était lui aussi un compositeur accompli. Le père d’Henry Purcell mourut en 1664 et Thomas Purcell, l’oncle d’Henry, devint son tuteur. Ce dernier, qui était gentilhomme de la Chapelle Royale, y fit admettre Henry comme petit chanteur. Il put alors étudier sous la direction du capitaine Henry Cooke,  » maître des enfants « , puis de son successeur Pelham Humphry.

Purcell a fait preuve d’un immense talent pour la composition dès son plus jeune âge.  » Sweet tyraness « , un chant à trois voix écrit pour la pièce de Playford Catch That Catch Can, a été composé quand il n’avait que huit ans. Quatre ans plus tard, en 1670, il signait une œuvre écrite pour l’anniversaire du Roi,  » Adresse des enfants de la Chapelle Royale au Roi et à leur maître, le capitaine Henry Cooke… composée par Maître Purcell, l’un des enfants de ladite chapelle « .

Quand Purcell mua à l’âge de 14 ans, on encouragea ses talents en le nommant assistant de l’accordeur et gardien des instruments de la cour de l’orgue de l’Abbaye de Westminster. Il poursuivit ses études à l’École de Westminster et il fut engagé comme organiste de l’Abbaye de Westminster en 1676. Cette année-là, il composa de la musique pour les pièces Aureng-Zebe du poète John Dryden, Epsom Wells et The Libertine de Thomas Shadwell. En 1677, il écrivit de la musique pour la tragédie d’Aphra Behn, Abdelazar, or The Moor’s Revenge. En 1679, l’organiste de la Chapelle du Roi, Master Blow, démissionna de son poste en faveur du jeune Purcell alors âgé de 22 ans. Pour les six prochaines années, celui-ci allait se consacrer presque exclusivement à la musique sacrée, dont l’œuvre  » Rejoice in the Lord « .

Purcell se maria en 1682, et l’année suivante vit la première publication d’un corpus de ses œuvres, douze sonates. Quand Purcell eut 24 ans, la Musical Society, une organisation de musiciens professionnels et amateurs, lui passa commande d’une œuvre pour le Festival de Sainte Cécile. Purcell devait encore composer deux odes pour cette société. Au cours des prochaines années, il composa surtout de la musique sacrée et des odes pour le roi et les membres de la famille royale. Ainsi, les antiennes I was glad et My Heart is Inditing ont été composées pour le couronnement du roi Jacques II.

Des contraintes puritaines naquit un appétit immense pour le théâtre, que Purcell s’empressa d’agrémenter de la musique. Ces pièces devinrent si populaires qu’elles furent présentées comme des semi-opéras, une forme musicale parente de la comédie musicale moderne, avec musique de scène, l’action théâtrale se muant en chant aux moments décisifs. Comme la réputation de Purcell était grandissante, ses fructueuses collaborations théâtrales ont mené à la composition de musique pour The Fool’s Perferment de D’Urfey, de Tyrannick Love de Dryden et peut-être de son œuvre la plus réussie, l’opéra King Arthur. Basé sur des masques et semi-opéras antérieurs, l’opéra de Purcell Dido and Aeneas s’apparente par sa forme au Venus and Adonis de Blow ; l’œuvre demeure une référence dans l’histoire de la musique dramatique anglaise, son exécution ayant eu lieu entre 1688 et 1690. En 1684, pour la Sainte Cécile, Purcell présenta le premier Te Deum anglais à être accompagné par un orchestre. La majorité des œuvres écrites pour le théâtre par Purcell le furent entre 1690 et 1695, période pendant laquelle il compléta la musique de scène de 45 pièces.

Dans Orpheus Britannicus, Henry Playford décrit  » le talent extraordinaire de l’auteur dans tous genres de musique, mais il fut particulièrement admiré pour sa maîtrise du répertoire vocal, étant doté d’un extraordinaire génie pour exprimer l’énergie des mots anglais, tout en suscitant les passions de tous ces auditeurs.  » La diversité des chants pour soliste de Purcell est impressionnante. Plus de cent chants remarquables et uniques nous sont parvenus, chiffre qui n’inclut pas ses chants sacrés et ses antiennes, odes et près de 150 chants pour le théâtre.

Here let my life (Qu’en ce moment ma vie s’en aille) est un superbe exemple de l’art qui assura à Purcell une place de choix dans l’histoire de la musique ; le génie de Purcell en tant que peintre des mots et son don pour capturer les émotions humaines les plus profondes sont immédiatement mis en évidence.

Music for a while(extrait d’Oedipus, 1692) met en lumière une mélodie hypnotique construite sur une basse obstinée modulante, le chant s’offrant dans sa forme la plus vulnérable, avec accompagnement solo de luth.

La complainte O, O let me weep ! (O, O laisse-moi pleurer) fait partie du masque de l’Acte V du semi-opéra de Purcell, Fairy Queen. Cette émouvante complainte est basée sur une basse obstinée de sept mesures, l’obbligato du violon solo faisant écho à la voix et créant une texture particulièrement lisse.

Entre 1692 et 1695, Purcell fit trois arrangements de If music be the food of love (Si la musique nourrit l’amour) du Colonel Henry Hevingham ; le premier, tout en simplicité, fait pourtant usage des mélismes dans la dernière phrase.

Crown the Altar (Couronnez l’autel) est une mise en musique splendide du texte de Nahum Tate tiré de la Birthday Ode for Queen Mary datée de 1693. Les phrases inventives aux intervalles angulaires, soulignées par l’utilisation caractéristique de Purcell de la rhétorique, rendent ce chant mémorable. Tout aussi mémorable est la façon dont Purcell traite l’écriture déclamatoire de In the Black Dismal Dungeon (Dans le morne et noir donjon du désespoir). Ici, les dramatiques premières phrases annoncent des sections plus mélodiques, le texte étant souligné par des harmonies flottantes et mouvantes.

Come Ye Sons of Art (Venez, fils de l’Art), la sixième ode du même nom composée par Purcell, fut écrite pour le 33e anniversaire de la Reine Mary en 1694. L’auteur du texte n’est pas connu mais c’est certainement la musique de Purcell qui rend l’œuvre aussi festive.

Sound the trumpet (Sonnez la trompette) est un duo tiré de la dernière des six Birthday Odes. Le texte reçoit ici un traitement glorieux, sur basse obstinée modulante et joyeux accompagnement de clavecin. Robert King suggère que, puisque des trompettes ne sont pas réellement entendues dans ce duo, la phrase répétée  » you make the listening shores resound  » (vous faites résonner les rives qui écoutent) pourrait être une référence sournoise aux célèbres trompettistes William et Matthias Shore, présents lors du concert puisqu’ils jouaient dans l’orchestre pendant les premières interprétations de l’Ode.

In Vain the Am’rous flute (En vain la flûte amoureuse) est tiré de l’Ode for St. Cecilia’s Day, daté de 1692. Ici, les flammes séraphiques et l’amour céleste sont dépeintes avec la délicatesse légendaire de Purcell, les  » soupirs  » des flûtes s’entrelaçant à la douceur des voix.

La mort d’Henry Purcell en 1695 a probablement été causée par une pneumonie ou une tuberculose, même si certains historiens avancent que, rentrant tardivement du théâtre à son domicile de Dean’s Yard à Westminster, Purcell se serait cogné à une porte barrée, peut-être non intentionnellement, alors que sa femme était déjà profondément endormie. Il mourut quelques jours plus tard, laissant dans le deuil sa  » femme aimante Frances Purcell  » et trois enfants. Des amis de longue date, Dryden et Blow, ont uni leurs talents pour composer une ode funèbre en son honneur,  » Mark how the lark and linnet sing  » ( » Notez comment l’alouette et la linotte chantent « ), ainsi que son épitaphe où l’on peut lire :  » Ci-gît Henry Purcell, Esq., qui a quitté cette vie pour ce lieu béni qui seul le surpasse en harmonie « .

Le verbe de Dryden lui a valu une gloire telle qu’on estime que l’ère connue sous le nom de Restauration se termine avec l’année de sa mort : 1700. Notre monde moderne jette un regard derrière lui avec tristesse et admiration.

La Restauration fut donc inaugurée par le couronnement d’un roi pour se conclure avec la mort d’un poète. Nous vivons dans une société qui souvent n’appose pas de valeur à l’histoire et nous arrache de tant de liens qui pourraient donner un sens à notre vie. Nous vivons maintenant dans un monde qui se languit de trouver sens et espoir.

Matthias Maute: Concerto on the Death of Henry Purcell

Interprète et spécialiste de la flûte à bec de réputation internationale, Matthias Maute est aussi un compositeur fécond dont plusieurs œuvres ont été publiées chez divers éditeurs. Il présente ainsi son concerto en quatre mouvements (Affetuoso, Allegro, Lamento, Allegro) :  » Le Concerto on the Death of Henry Purcell est écrit dans le langage musical des années 1720 et se veut un véritable hommage à Henry Purcell. Vous pourrez entendre dans le troisième mouvement, une référence à la fameuse chaconne pour deux flûtes à bec et basse continue de Purcell où, sur une ligne descendante de la basse, un canon de flûtes fait des merveilles. Le Concerto on the Death of Henry Purcell comporte un canon semblable, axé cependant, sur une ligne de la basse ascendante. « 

© Dan Taylor
Traduction: Lucie Renaud, Gil Cimon

Lire la suite

À propos

Daniel Taylor
AN 2 9541 Handel – Ode for St. Cecilia’s Day
AN 2 9541 Handel – Ode for St. Cecilia’s Day
AN 2 9541 Handel – Ode for St. Cecilia’s Day

Start typing and press Enter to search

Ovation | Angèle Dubeau & La Pietà