fbpx

Album information

Saint-Saëns & Tchaikovsky

“Of all the musical instruments that might interpret a melodic idea, none imitates so purely the human voice, none pulls so firmly on the heartstrings, as the cello,” stated 19th-century Belgian composer and musicologist François-Auguste Gevaert. By this time, with a better-defined playing technique and increased power that made it more suitable for lush orchestrations, the cello had most definitely achieved maturity. It is not surprising, then, that the instrument held a powerful sway over a number of composers, including Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840–1893) and < a href= http://www.analekta.com/en/artists/Camille-Saint-Saens.683.html>Camille Saint-Saëns (1835–1921), represented here.

The early 1870s saw Saint-Saëns driven by a constant desire to surpass himself, which led to several powerful compositions, including the Cello Concerto No. 1. The year before, he had written an intense and dramatic cello sonata, but the concerto showed off the instrument in an entirely different way. Indeed, his creative decisions—the expressive treatment of the solo part, the thematic concentration, the concise orchestral developments, the juxtaposition of contrasts, the lack of a traditional orchestral introduction, and the merging of the usual three movements into one—place this concerto in a class of its own.

The score, dedicated to cellist Auguste Tolbecque, who premiered the work on January 19, 1874, opens with a lightly orchestrated Allegro non troppo, giving the soloist room to shine with an ardent, triplet-based theme, which contrasts naturally with the lyrical second theme; this in turn is soon swept away by a double-stopped passage that leads to a third theme. In the Allegretto, a graceful, delicate minuet, the soloist is given free rein in a dreamlike countermelody in the cello’s middle—and perhaps most human—register, accompanied discretely by the string section. The triplets of the first movement, presented by the orchestra, announce the finale, which juxtaposes contrasting material in a rondo-like form.

The first piece Saint-Saëns completed after his marriage to Marie-Laure Truffot in February 1875, the short and cheerful Allegro appassionato, appears to have been eclipsed by other masterworks from this period, including the Piano Concerto No. 4 and the famous Danse macabre. And yet this delicately wrought piece dedicated to Jules Lasserre remains one of the most popular works in the cello repertoire, as is “Le cygne” (The Swan) from Carnival of the Animals, a poetic high point written a decade later.

When German cellist Wilhelm Fitzenhagen—a colleague of Tchaikovsky’s at the Moscow Conservatory who took part in the premieres of three of the latter’s string quartets—received the Variations on a Rococo Theme in 1877, which he had commissioned from Tchaikovsky, he immediately took it on tour. Quickly realizing how deeply moving audiences found the third variation, “Andante” (they frequently applauded it), Fitzenhagen decided to rework the score by moving this variation to the end and rewriting certain transitions. Tchaikovsky was unaware of this mutilation until the work was published in 1889. Although outraged, the composer let the publication stand, and Tchaikovsky’s original version would not be heard again before 1941; indeed, most cellists did not start playing the original version until the late 1970s. The work hinges on a theme of Mozartian elegance followed by seven linked variations of entirely different styles, making it challenging for performers, who must switch from ardent lyricism to pure virtuosity in the blink of an eye.

In August 1887, by the bedside of his dying friend Nikolaï Kondratiev (chief producer at the Mariinsky Theater), Tchaikovsky overcame the spectre of death by writing the sketch of what would become the Pezzo capriccioso in a week. Upon his return to St. Petersburg, he sent the completed work to the editor Petr Jurgenson, suggesting that Wilhelm Fitzenhagen “might look over the cello part and suggest any markings specific to the soloist. […] This piece is the single fruit of my musical spirit from the whole summer.” It was premiered in February 1888, in one of Marie Benardaki’s salons, during a visit by Tchaikovsky to Paris, with the cello part performed by its dedicatee, Anatolie Brandukov. Brandukov also gave the premiere with orchestra in November 1889 in Moscow, with Tchaikovsky at the podium.

© Lucie Renaud
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

Stéphane Tétreault
AN 2 9987-8
AN 2 9987-8
AN 2 9987-8

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Saint-Saëns & Tchaïkovski

« De tous les instruments aptes à interpréter une idée mélodique, aucun ne possède au même degré que le violoncelle l’accent de la voix humaine, aucun n’atteint aussi sûrement les fibres intimes du cœur », affirmait au 19e siècle François-Auguste Gevaert, compositeur et musicologue belge. Le violoncelle a alors définitivement atteint l’âge de la maturité, d’autant plus que sa technique mieux définie et sa puissance sonore accrue facilitent son mariage avec des orchestrations foisonnantes. Il ne faut donc pas se surprendre qu’il ait exercé un pouvoir attractif sur de nombreux compositeurs, dont Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski (1840-1893) et Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921), représentés ici.

Dans la première moitié de la décennie 1870, Saint-Saëns semble mû par une volonté constante de dépassement, propice à la création de plusieurs pages puissantes, dont le Premier Concerto pour violoncelle. Déjà, l’année précédente, il avait signé une sonate engagée, intense et dramatique. Cette fois, il révèle l’instrument d’une tout autre façon. Traitement expressif du jeu soliste, concentration des thèmes utilisés, développements orchestraux ramassés, juxtaposition de contrastes, abolition de la longue introduction traditionnelle et enchaînement des trois mouvements se révèlent autant de choix créatifs qui placent ce concerto dans une classe à part.

La partition, dédiée à Auguste Tolbecque, qui en assurera la création le 19 janvier 1874, s’ouvre sur un Allegro non troppo aux textures allégées, permettant au soliste de briller, grâce à un thème ardent, en triolets, qui s’oppose tout naturellement au lyrisme du deuxième motif, bientôt balayé par un passage en double corde qui mène à un troisième thème. Dans l’Allegretto, gracieux et délicat menuet, le violoncelliste peut laisser libre cours à un contrechant rêveur, dans la partie médiane de l’instrument – la plus humaine peut-être –, venu appuyer discrètement les autres cordes. Les triolets du premier mouvement, présentés par l’orchestre, annoncent le finale, qui multiplie jeux de contrastes et juxtaposition de matériau dans une forme rappelant le rondo.

Enjoué et bref, première pièce complétée par Saint-Saëns après son mariage avec Marie-Laure Truffot, en février 1875, l’Allegro appassionato semble éclipsé par des œuvres maîtresses datant de la même époque, dont le Quatrième Concerto pour piano et la célèbre Danse macabre. Pourtant, cette page délicatement ouvragée, dédiée à Jules Lasserre, demeure l’une des plus populaires consacrées à l’instrument, tout comme « Le Cygne », tiré du Carnaval des animaux, un sommet de poésie, écrit une décennie plus tard.

Quand le violoncelliste allemand Wilhelm Fitzenhagen, collègue de Tchaïkovski au Conservatoire de Moscou, ayant pris part à la création des trois quatuors à cordes du compositeur, reçoit sa commande des Variations sur un thème rococo en 1877, il se met aussitôt à jouer l’œuvre en tournée. Réalisant rapidement que la troisième variation, l’Andante, touche profondément le public (qui n’hésite pas à applaudir après l’avoir entendue), il décide de remanier la partition en déplaçant cette variation en dernière position et réécrivant certaines transitions. Tchaïkovski ne se rendra compte de la mutilation qu’en 1889, lors de la publication. Outré, il abdique pourtant et la version originale ne sera pas entendue avant 1941 – les violoncellistes ne retournant pour la plupart au texte qu’à la toute fin des années 1970. L’œuvre s’articule autour d’un thème à l’élégance mozartienne, suivi de sept variations enchaînées, élaborées dans des styles entièrement différents, véritable défi pour l’interprète, qui doit passer du lyrisme ardent à la virtuosité pure en une fraction de seconde ou presque.

En août 1887, au chevet de son ami Nikolaï Kondratiev (producteur en chef du Théâtre Marie), gravement malade, Tchaïkovski repousse le spectre de la mort en jetant les bases de ce qui deviendra le Pezzo capriccioso en une semaine. À son retour à Saint-Pétersbourg, il transmet l’œuvre complétée à Petr Jurgenson, en soulignant que Wilhelm Fitzenhagen « pourrait jeter un coup d’œil à la partie de violoncelle et suggérer des articulations particulières. […] Cette pièce est le seul fruit musical de mon été. » Elle sera créée en février 1888, chez Marie Benardaki, qui tenait salon lors d’une visite du compositeur à Paris, la partie de violoncelle étant alors assurée par Anatolie Brandukov, son dédicataire. La première avec orchestre sera donnée par le même interprète en novembre 1889 à Moscou, avec Tchaïkovski au podium.

© Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

Stéphane Tétreault
AN 6 1015
AN 6 1015
AN 6 1015

Start typing and press Enter to search