fbpx
AN 2 9873

Bach - Magnificat BWV 243, Cantata "Gloria in excelsis Deo" BWV 191; Vivaldi - Gloria RV 589

Release date October 20, 2009
Album code AN 2 9873

Album information

The oldest American Bach Choir, The Bach Choir of Bethlehem performs, on their first recording on the Analekta label, works celebrating the Creator by J.S. Bach and Vivaldi. Such renowned singers as Daniel Taylor, Daniel Lichti and Benjamin Butterfield are joining conductor Greg Funfgeld on this glorious recording.

This recording could have been titled “Glorious Glorias,” since the first of these three works ends with the Gloria Patri, the second is a setting of the Gloria in excelsis Deo, and the third conjoins the Gloria in excelsis Deo with the Gloria Patri.

J.S. Bach: Magnificat (BWV 243)

J.S. Bach‘s Magnificat (BWV 243) was originally composed in Leipzig in 1723 to be heard at the service of Vespers. There is reason to believe it was first heard on Advent Sunday that year and repeated a few weeks later on Christmas Day. There are interesting connections between Luther’s commentary on the Magnificat, written in 1521, and Bach’s setting of the same text composed some two hundred years later. Bach owned several editions of Luther’s collected writings, so he probably knew Luther’s Magnificat commentary first-hand. Some of the connections are incidental and obvious, such as Luther’s exposition of the key words or ideas of the text and Bach’s musical treatment of the same material. For example, the emphasis on the word salutari (“salvation”) in the soprano aria Et exsultavit; the descending scale given to the word humilitatem (“low estate”); and the fact that in every measure of the chorus Omnes generationes (“all generations”) the opening fugal theme is heard. However, there are other and stronger links between the two.

Luther explained the focal point of the Magnificat thus: “I commend the Magnificat… particularly the fifth and sixth verses, in which the chief content is gathered up… In all your life fear nothing on earth… so much… as… ‘the imagination of their hearts.’ That is the greatest, closest, mightiest, and most destructive foe of all mankind.” Bach agrees with Luther. The centerpiece of his setting of the Vesper canticle is movement 7, Fecit potentiam, a distinctive, large-scale chorus. In his commentary Luther stresses the contradistinction between the power of God on the one hand, and the futility of the proud of the earth on the other. The contrast in Bach’s chorus is given an eloquent musical form. Fecit potentiam (“He hath shewed strength”) is given a suitably strong fugal treatment. However, at the point where the text moves on to speak of dispersit superbos mente cordis sui (“He hath scattered the proud in the imagination of their hearts”), the fugal writing is displaced by syllabic homophony. In this musical preaching Bach contrasts the contrapuntal power of God with the pedantic and simple chordal imagination of the proud of this earth. Throughout his commentary Luther makes reference to the dethronement of the mighty and the exaltation of the humble. So Bach gives the theme striking pictorialism in the thematic material, in both the unison violins and tenor solo, in Deposuit potentes, and more subtly in the penultimate movement, Sicut locutus, where the voices in canon enter in an ascending order from the lowest to the highest, suggesting the exaltation of humble “Abraham” and “his seed,” that is, those who, like Abraham, live by faith. Thus the humble will be lifted up into the final Gloria Patri, a corporate song of praise which recalls Mary’s original “Magnificat.” In the 19 measures at the beginning of the concluding Gloria, Bach expresses Trinitarian theology in musical form. There are three clearly defined sections, one for each Person, in which the voice entries are in “threes”: triplets and parallel thirds. Further, the voice entries for Gloria Patri (“Glory be to the Father”) progress from the lowest to the highest, with a pedal-point in the middle of the three measures of the vocal Bass. Gloria Filio (“Glory be to the Son”) has staggered voice entries, beginning with Soprano I, which now has the vocal pedal-point in the middle of these three measures, that is, the inversion of what appears in the Bass of the Gloria Patri. Then for the Gloria et Spiritui Sancto (“Glory be to the Holy Spirit”) the voices enter in a simple descending order, in five steps from Soprano I to Bass. Here Bach gives musical form to Trinitarian theology: the Son is the image of the Father, and the Holy Spirit proceeds from the Father and the Son. So Bach ends as he began, with the same basic music, fusing together Mary’s personal response to the promise of the coming of Christ with the corporate response of the church to the coming of Christ during the seasons of Advent and Christmas.

Vivaldi : Gloria in D Major (RV 589)

Vivaldi‘s Gloria in D Major (RV 589), as with many of his instrumental and sacred works, was composed for the “Ospedale della Pietà,” a convent, orphanage, and music school in Venice where Vivaldi was the violin tutor. This festal setting of the liturgical Gloria in excelsis Deo – Vivaldi’s best-known sacred work – was probably composed during his early years at the “Ospedale,” that is, sometime between 1713 and 1715. The work is divided into twelve somewhat brief movements that are contrasted by musical texture, instrumental and vocal color, occasioned by the respective sections of the text, often alternating between major and minor tonalities. But the work is essentially characterized by its two outer movements, the energy of celebration in the same bright key of Bach’s Magnificat, D major. The first movement is replete with octave leaps, repeated rhythmical patterns that set the tone of celebration for the whole work. The final movement returns to D major, a splendid double fugue, which turns out to be a reworking of a Gloria fugue composed in 1708 by another Venetian opera composer, Giovanni Maria Ruggieri (fl c. 1690–1720). In a similar way that Vivaldi modified and re-worked Ruggieri’s fugue, here we might modify John Donne’s observation, “No man is an island” to become “No composer is independent from his peers and predecessors:” they all learn something from each other, and Bach learned much from Vivaldi.

J.S. Bach: Gloria in excelsis Deo (BWV 191)

J.S. Bach‘s Gloria in excelsis Deo (BWV 191) is unique among Bach’s cantatas in that it is the only one written to a Latin rather than a German text. The cantata comprises the reworkings of movements from the Gloria of the Mass in B Minor (BWV 232). The earlier Missa, the Kyrie and Gloria, was composed in 1733, and the adaptation of three of its movements for this Christmas Day cantata was probably made by Bach sometime between 1743 and 1746. In the Bach-Jahrbuch of 1992 Gregory Butler made the convincing case for Cantata 191 having been performed in the University Church of St. Paul, rather than either the St. Thomas or St. Nicholas churches, at Christmas 1745, which would explain why the libretto was Latin rather than German.

The cantata is divided into two parts, and would have framed a sermon in the University Church, where it was first heard, if Professor Butler’s conjecture is correct. Section one comprises the five-part chorus, Gloria in excelsis Deo – the Latin version of Luke 2:14, the last words of the Gospel for Christmas Day – the fourth movement of the Mass in B Minor. The second part of the cantata comprises two movements. The first is a duet for soprano and tenor, a reworking of the Domine Deus of the Gloria of the Mass, an adaptation that is truncated by 21 measures and adjusted for the first part of the text of the Gloria Patri: Gloria Patri et Filio et Spiritui Sancto (“Glory be to the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit”). The final movement is also an adaptation from the Mass in B Minor. The five-voice chorus Cum Sancto Spiritu of the Mass is adapted to the text of the second part of the text of the Gloria Patri: Sicut erat in principio et nunc et semper et in saecula saeculorum, Amen (“As it was in the beginning, is now, and shall be for ever, Amen”). Thus for this Christmas cantata Bach reused his magnificent music of the 1733 Missa, but the recycling was creatively achieved. The reuse of the opening of the Gloria in excelsis Deo was undoubtedly suggested by the Gospel for Christmas Day. But Bach apparently faced the problem that the whole Gloria would be inappropriate at a service of Vespers. Similarly, the Gloria chorus on its own would not have been long enough for use as a cantata for this principal feast of the church year. Bach therefore decided to make use of two further movements of his extensive Gloria in excelsis Deo setting of 1733, although he would be unable to use them unaltered and with their original texts. His brilliant solution was to juxtapose the two great Glorias of the liturgy of the church, and for the remaining two movements of his Latin cantata to employ the text of the Gloria Patri. The result is a theologically and musically satisfying cantata in which the Incarnation of Christ is celebrated by the two Glorias: the Gloria of the church in heaven, and the Gloria of the church on earth.

© Robin A. Leaver, 2009

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9873

Bach - Magnificat BWV 243, Cantate "Gloria in excelsis Deo" BWV 191; Vivaldi - Gloria RV 589

Date de sortie 20 octobre 2009
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9873

Informations sur l'album

The Bach Choir of Bethlehem, le plus ancien chœur américain dédié à J.S Bach, cantor de Leipzig, interprète sur ce premier enregistrement sous étiquette Analekta, des œuvres exaltantes à la gloire du Créateur. Une brochette de chanteurs renommés tels que Daniel Taylor, Daniel Lichti et Ben Butterfield se joignent au chef Greg Funfgeld sur ce glorieux album.

J.S. Bach: Magnificat (BWV 243)

Cet enregistrement aurait aussi bien pu s’intituler « Glorieux Glorias », puisque la première des trois œuvres présentées se termine par le Gloria Patri, la deuxième s’inspire du Gloria in excelsis Deo et la troisième conjugue les deux textes en un seul.

Le Magnificat (BWV 243) de J.S. Bach a été composé à Leipzig en 1723 pour être interprété pendant les Vêpres. Tout porte à croire qu’il aurait d’abord été entendu lors du premier dimanche de l’avent cette année-là, avant d’être repris quelques semaines plus tard, le jour de Noël. D’intéressants liens peuvent s’établir entre le commentaire de Luther sur le texte du Magnificat, datant de 1521, et la mise en musique de Bach de ce même texte, quelque 200 ans après. Bach possédait plusieurs éditions des écrits de Luther et connaissait vraisemblablement très bien ce commentaire. Certains des liens sont circonstanciels et évidents, comme la façon dont Luther traite les mots-clés ou les idées maîtresses du texte et la réalisation musicale proposée par Bach. On peut ainsi noter l’emphase sur le mot salutari (salut) dans l’air pour soprano Et exsultavit, la gamme descendante privilégiée pour le mot humilitatem (humilité) ou le fait que dans chaque mesure du chœur Omnes generations (toutes les générations), on reconnaît le thème d’ouverture fugué. Néanmoins, d’autres parallèles forts peuvent être avancés entre les deux lectures.

Luther a expliqué l’élément central du Magnificat en ces termes: « Je loue le Magnificat […] particulièrement les cinquième et sixième versets, qui résument l’essentiel du propos […] Tout au long de votre existence, ne craignez rien sur terre […] autant que […] l’imagination de leurs cœurs. Voilà l’ennemi le plus grand, le plus proche, le plus puissant et le plus destructeur de toute humanité. » Bach abonde en ce sens. La pièce maîtresse de sa mise en musique du Cantique des Vêpres est le septième mouvement, Fecit potentiam, un chœur à large déploiement typique. Dans son commentaire, Luther établit clairement la distinction entre la puissance de Dieu et la futilité de l’homme fier. Dans le chœur de Bach, le contraste est transmis avec éloquence. Fecit potentiam (Il a démontré sa force) est habilement traité de manière fortement fuguée. Néanmoins, au moment où le texte glisse vers dispersit superbos mente cordis sui (Il a disséminé les fiers dans l’imagination de leurs cœurs), l’écriture fuguée est déclassée par l’homophonie syllabique. Voilà un prêche musical dans lequel Bach oppose la puissance contrapuntique de Dieu à l’imagination des fiers de cette terre, en présentant le matériel de manière pédante, grâce à une harmonisation simple. À travers son commentaire, Luther fait référence au détrônement du puissant et l’exaltation de l’humble. Bach opte pour une approche particulièrement picturale, tant lors des passages de violons à l’unisson que dans le solo du ténor du Deposuit potentes, et plus subtilement dans l’avant-dernier mouvement, Sicut locutus, alors que les voix sont introduites en canon, en ordre ascendant, de la plus grave à la plus aiguë, suggérant l’exaltation de l’humble « Abraham » et « sa semence » i.e. ceux qui, comme Abraham, vivent leur foi. L’humble s’élève donc dans le Gloria Patri final, un chant de grâce collectif qui rappelle le « Magnificat » originel, prononcé par Marie. Dans les 19 mesures qui ouvrent le Gloria conclusif, Bach transmet la théologie trinitaire en forme musicale. On y retrouve trois sections clairement identifiées, une pour chaque Être, dans lesquelles les entrées vocales vont par trois, triolets et tierces parallèles. De plus, les registres progressent du plus grave au plus aigu à Gloria Patri (« Gloire au Père »), avec une pédale harmonique au milieu des trois mesures du solo des basses. À Gloria Filio (« Gloire au Fils »), les entrées vocales sont décalées, en commençant par les sopranos I, qui reprennent la pédale au milieu des dites trois mesures, i.e. l’inversion de ce qui avait été chanté par les basses dans Gloria Patri. Puis, pour le Gloria et Spiritui Sancto (« Gloire à l’Esprit-saint »), les voix se présentent dans un simple ordre descendant, en cinq étapes, des sopranos aux basses. Bach donne une forme musicale à la théologie trinitaire: le Fils est l’image du Père, et l’Esprit saint tient du Père et du Fils. Bach termine donc comme il a commencé, avec la même musique de base, fondant ensemble la réponse de Marie à la promesse de l’avènement du Christ et celle, collective, de l’église, en cette période de l’avent et de Noël.

Vivaldi : Gloria en ré majeur (RV 589)

Comme nombre de ses œuvres instrumentales et sacrées, le Gloria en ré majeur (RV 589) de Vivaldi a été composé pour l’Ospedale della Pietà, couvent, orphelinat et école de musique de Venise où Vivaldi enseignait le violon. La musique festive du liturgique Gloria in excelsis Deo – l’œuvre sacrée la plus connue de Vivaldi – a probablement été composée pendant ses premières années à l’Ospedale, entre 1713 et 1715. L’œuvre s’articule en 12 mouvements brefs et contrastants, tant par leur texture musicale que leur couleur instrumentale et vocale, selon les diverses sections du texte, et alterne fréquemment entre tonalités majeures et mineures. Elle est essentiellement caractérisée par ses deux mouvements externes, symboles de l’énergie et des réjouissances, dans la même tonalité brillante que le Magnificat de Bach, ré majeur. Le premier mouvement est rempli de sauts d’octaves et de motifs rythmiques répétés, qui transmettent à toute l’œuvre un puissant sentiment de joie. Le mouvement final, lui aussi en ré majeur, se veut une double fugue splendide qui s’avère une réécriture d’une fugue d’un Gloria composé en 1708 par un autre compositeur vénitien d’opéra, Giovanni Maria Ruggieri (autour de 1690-1720). De la même façon que Vivaldi a modifié et retravaillé la fugue de Ruggieri, nous pourrions transformer l’observation de John Donne, « Nul homme n’est une île » en « Nul compositeur n’est indépendant de ses collègues et de ses prédécesseurs ». Ils apprennent tous l’un de l’autre et Bach a beaucoup appris de Vivaldi.

J.S. Bach: Gloria in excelsis Deo (BWV 191)

La cantate Gloria in excelsis Deo (BWV 191) est unique dans la production de Bach, puisqu’elle est la seule à intégrer un texte latin plutôt qu’allemand. La cantate comprend des réécritures de mouvements du Gloria de la Messe en si mineur (BWV 232). La Messe antérieure, le Kyrie et le Gloria avaient été composés en 1733, et leur adaptation en une cantate pour le jour de Noël a probablement été réalisée par Bach entre 1743 et 1746. Dans le Bach-Jahrbuch de 1992, Gregory Butler défend avec conviction l’hypothèse que la Cantate 191 ait été donnée pour la première fois à l’église de l’Université de Saint-Paul et non pas aux églises de Saint-Thomas ou Saint-Nicolas, à Noël 1745, ce qui expliquerait le livret en latin plutôt qu’en allemand.

La cantate est divisée en deux sections qui auraient encadré un sermon dans l’église de l’Université, si les conjectures du professeur Butler s’avèrent véridiques. La première comprend un chœur à cinq voix, Gloria in excelsis Deo – la version latine de Luc 2,14, dernières paroles de l’Évangile pour le jour de Noël –, quatrième mouvement de la Messe en si mineur. La seconde partie de la cantate comprend deux mouvements. Le premier est un duo pour soprano et ténor, une relecture du Domine Deus du Gloria de la Messe, adaptation tronquée de 21 mesures et ajustée pour mieux servir la première partie du texte du Gloria Patri: Gloria Patri et Filio et Spiritui Sancto (Gloire au Père, au Fils et au Saint-Esprit). Le dernier mouvement se veut également un arrangement de la Messe en si mineur. Le chœur à cinq voix Cum Sancto Spiritu de la Messe est adapté au texte de la deuxième partie du Gloria Patri: Sicut erat in principio et nunc et semper et in saecula seculorum, amen (Comme il était au commencement, maintenant et toujours et dans les siècles des siècles, amen). Ainsi, pour cette cantate de Noël, Bach recycle sa magnifique musique de la Messe de 1733, mais de façon fort créative. La réutilisation du début du Gloria in excelsis Deo a sans nul doute été suggérée par l’Évangile du jour de Noël. Mais Bach a sans doute réalisé que l’ensemble du Gloria serait inapproprié pour un service des Vêpres. De la même façon, le chœur du Gloria n’aurait pas été suffisamment long pour être employé dans une cantate dédiée à cette fête essentielle de l’année liturgique. Bach a donc décidé d’utiliser deux mouvements supplémentaires de sa vaste partition du Gloria in excelsis Deo, datée de 1733, même s’il ne pourrait pas les reprendre tels quels, avec leur texte original. Sa solution lumineuse a été de juxtaposer les deux grands Glorias de la liturgie de l’Église et d’intégrer deux mouvements du Gloria Patri à sa cantate latine. Le résultat devient une cantate théologiquement et musicalement satisfaisante, dans laquelle l’incarnation du Christ est célébrée par deux Glorias: celui de l’église céleste et celui de l’église terrestre.

© Robin A. Leaver, 2009
Traduction : Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 9983
AN 2 9983
AN 2 9983
AN 2 9983

Start typing and press Enter to search