fbpx
AN 2 8831

Montréal Jazz Club - Session 1

Release date November 09, 2004
Album code AN 2 8831
Periods Hors période
Genres Jazz (Big Bands, Blues, R&B)

Album information

No sense of adventure? Get real!

How could one not interpret as a self-deprecatory wink the decision to include a cover of Claude Dubois’s superb song “Pas question d’aventure” on the first CD of the Montréal Jazz Club series. When a classical recording label whose trademark is as firmly anchored in the public imagination as Analekta’s decides to move into jazz, some will undoubtedly say it’s a fling. But make no mistake: this is decidedly not a one-night stand!

For recording producer Philippe Dunnigan, there is no contradiction between Analekta’s initial calling and this new direction. “For us, Montréal Jazz Club is a project stamped with a seal of the utmost rigor.” And it is clear that the producers have not cut any corners, as indicated by the presence of such talented and well-known musicians as guitarist Benoît Charest, accordionist Francis Covan, the Menasen string quartet, trumpetist Jean-Luc Thibeault, pianist Marianne Trudel, saxophonist Patrick Vetter, and on violin, Philippe Dunnigan himself! Of course we cannot forget singer Chantale Thibeault and the rhythm section made up of pianist (and occasional trombonist) Anthony Rozankovic, contrabassist Pierre Pépin, and drummer Camil Bélisle, whose refinement comes through on several instrumental tracks.

What class!

One sweltering mid-July afternoon in Greenfield Park, Dunnigan and I are chatting in the thankfully air-conditioned control room of drummer Camil Bélisle’s studio. On the other side of the wide window, Chantale Thibeault sings a smoky passage of a new take of “Everything Must Change.” The bassist and drummer are honing their dialogue in the interlude when Dunnigan interrupts the recording to suggest to Rozankovic—who created most of the sumptuous arrangements for the disc—that a touch of gospel might benefit this Bernard Ighner classic, made popular by George Benson, Nina Simone, and Oleta Adams, among others. There’s a wonderful paradox here: the session lasts as many takes as necessary, with nothing left to chance, and yet throughout, everyone remains open to the magic of the moment, the very foundation of true jazz.
Though this is one of her first recordings, Thibeault has worked alongside enough experienced jazz musicians in Montréal clubs to have learned this golden rule. When she gives us “Alys en cinémascope”—in an arrangement by Benoît Groulx (the other arranger on this disc) that owes little to the original by Diane Dufresne—we hear both that nightlife experience and a desire to not be blinded by the limelight on the way to the top. With “Reste avec moi” or “Gilberto,” two songs borrowed from the repertoire of the underrated Diane Tell, we also hear the control, contained sensuality and restraint of a singer who has obviously learned much from listening to Shirley Horn, that master of back phrasing, but who avoids the pitfall of servile imitation. So Thibeault is eminently convincing when she picks up from Horn the eloquent refrain: “that’s how it goes / you live and you learn / the rules of the road.”

No sense of adventure? Really? And yet this disc has adventure written all over it. A fling? Maybe, but a long-term fling—which is all the better for music lovers, and which bodes well for the discs to come the Montréal Jazz Club series.

© Stanley Péan
Writer and jazz lover
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Pas question d’aventure? Allons donc…

Comment ne pas interpréter comme un clin d’œil goguenard la décision d’inclure sur ce premier CD de la série Montréal Jazz Club une relecture de la superbe chanson « Pas question d’aventure » de Claude Dubois? Si une maison de disques classique, à l’image de marque aussi bien ancrée dans l’esprit du public qu’Analekta, décide de prendre un virage jazz, il est forcément question d’aventure… mais pas de one-night stand!

Le réalisateur de l’album, Philippe Dunnigan, ne voit aucune contradiction entre la vocation initiale d’Analekta et cette nouvelle avenue. « Pour nous, Montréal Jazz Club est un projet marqué au sceau de la rigueur et de l’exigence. » Les producteurs n’ont pas lésiné sur les moyens, on le voit bien; d’où la présence sur ces plages de musiciens aussi reconnus et talen¬tueux que le guitariste Benoît Charest, l’accordéoniste Francis Covan, le quatuor à cordes Menasen, le trompettiste Jean-Luc Thibeault, la pianiste Marianne Trudel, le saxophoniste Patrick Vetter… et le violoniste Philippe Dunnigan lui-même! Sans oublier Chantale Thibeault, la chanteuse, et le trio rythmique de base, composé du pianiste (et tromboniste à ses heures) Anthony Rozankovic, du contrebassiste Pierre Pépin et du batteur Camil Bélisle, et dont quelques plages instrumentales révèlent toute la finesse.

La grande classe, en effet!

C’est un après-midi torride de la mi-juillet, à Greenfield Park. Philippe Dunnigan et moi discutons dans la régie, fort heureusement climatisée, du studio de Camil Bélisle, le batteur. De l’autre côté de la grande baie vitrée, Chantale Thibeault entonne de sa voix un brin embrumée une nouvelle prise d' »Everything Must Change ». Le contrebas¬siste et le batteur affinent leur dialogue sur l’interlude. On interrompt l’enregistrement. Le réalisateur insiste auprès d’Anthony Rozankovic, à qui l’on doit la majorité des somptueux arrangements du disque, pour qu’il imprime une touche de gospel à ce classique de Bernard Ighner popularisé entre autres par George Benson, Nina Simone et Oleta Adams. Au fil de la répétition, on reprendra la chanson autant de fois qu’il le faudra. Beau paradoxe: rien n’est laissé au hasard et cependant tous demeurent disponibles à cette magie de l’instant, fondatrice du jazz authentique.

Même si elle en est à ses premiers enregistrements, Chantale Thibeault connaît cette règle du métier, pour avoir côtoyé dans les boîtes de nuit de Montréal bon nombre de jazzmen d’ici. Lorsqu’elle s’approprie « Alys en cinémascope » – dans une refonte signée Benoît Groulx (l’autre orchestrateur à l’œuvre ici) qui doit si peu à l’originale de Diane Dufresne –, on entend à la fois une certaine expérience du nightlife et la volonté de ne pas se laisser aveugler par les lumières de la rampe dans la trajectoire vers le top. Ailleurs, sur « Reste avec moi » ou sur « Gilberto », deux emprunts au répertoire de la mésestimée Diane Tell, on entend aussi maîtrise, sensualité contenue et sobriété d’une chanteuse qui a certes beaucoup appris à l’écoute de Shirley Horn, cette virtuose de la retenue, mais qui sait éviter l’écueil de l’imitation servile. Aussi croit-on volontiers Chantale Thibeault lorsqu’elle reprend à Horn ce refrain pétri de lucidité « that’s how it goes / you live and you learn / the rules of the road. »

Pas question d’aventure, vraiment? Il n’y a pourtant que ça, ici: une belle aventure, qui ne restera pas sans lendemain. C’est tant mieux, pour les mélomanes et de très bon augure pour les albums de la série Montréal Jazz Club à venir!

© Stanley Péan
Écrivain et amateur de jazz

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8794 Beethoven: Sonates pour violon et piano Nº 6, 7 & 8
AN 2 8794 Beethoven: Sonates pour violon et piano Nº 6, 7 & 8
AN 2 8794 Beethoven: Sonates pour violon et piano Nº 6, 7 & 8
AN 2 8794 Beethoven: Sonates pour violon et piano Nº 6, 7 & 8

Start typing and press Enter to search

Ground Midnight | James Gelfand TrioRavel, Boudreau, Rimsky-Korsakov: The Bounds of our Dreams / Aux Frontières de nos Rêves | Alain Lefèvre, National Arts Centre Orchestra & Alexander Shelley