fbpx
AN 2 9998

Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique

Composers
Release date March 27, 2012
Album code AN 2 9998
Periods Romantic

Album information

Hector Berlioz (1803-1869)
Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14

When Berlioz wrote his Symphonie fantastique, he had no idea the effect it would have on the course of music. Did he realize that he had created a model for orchestral composition that would still be in use two centuries later? Of course not. In the direct symphonic line from Beethoven, but without imitating him, Berlioz brought orchestral music to its highest level of development, an achievement recognized by Franz Liszt and later by Gustav Mahler and Richard Strauss.

To fully understand how this all began, we must go back to the years 1818-1819. In the library of his father, young Hector was discovering and devouring the writings of Chateaubriand (René), Sénancour (Oberman) and especially Florian. His favourite book was Estelle et Némorin, a simple tale of great narrative beauty that captured Berlioz’ imagination and ignited in him the hope for a pure and selfless love.

Subsequently he discovered Thomas De Quincey’s autobiographical Confessions of an Opium Eater, a book that surely, if perhaps unconsciously, inspired the psychedelic trip that is the Symphonie fantastique. Then came Shakespeare’s plays and Goethe’s Faust. In 1830 he wrote in his Mémoires: “… still under the influence of Goethe’s poem, I am writing my Fantastic Symphony with much difficulty in certain parts and with incredible ease in others.” In 1830, Berlioz was only 26. Just six years had passed since the first performance of Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony, and just three since this composer had died.

It is impossible to think of the Symphonie fantastique and not of the idée fixe, for this is the very key to understanding and appreciating the work. The storyline is simple: a young artist (Berlioz), under the influence of opium, has a series of visions, each depicted in one of the five movements in which a young woman appears to him in a different form.

The recurring theme is first heard in its full, unadorned shape, then in various melodic, harmonic and rhythmic modifications throughout succeeding movements as befits the composer’s imagination.

In these five movements, Berlioz gives full expression to his obsessive love in musical terms that served as the point of departure for romantic symphonists for the next hundred years. French romanticism was born.

As Wagner was to do with the leitmotif, this recurring musical idée fixe represents an idea or character, and served as the generating force for much of the program music to come. A century later, Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring and Debussy’s Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun would shock the musical world just as had the Symphonie fantastique, all works that appeared perhaps prematurely in the course of music history.

The idée fixe of the Symphonie fantastique has a name: Irish actress Harriet Smithson, whom Berlioz had seen in the roles of Juliet and especially Ophelia. In 1830, she was all the rage in Paris, the city that had just recently discovered Beethoven and was now in the throes of Shakespeare. The woman who would later become Berlioz’ first wife had not the slightest interest at the time in the letters and notes he was sending her. On the evening of the premiere of the Symphonie fantastique, Berlioz reserved a seat for her in a loge, but she did not come. Undeterred, he found comfort in the music in which she was bound up with him.

In this large-scale, five-movement Symphonie fantastique, born of a dream of a sick mind and depicting madness in music, Berlioz inspired an entire generation of composers and artists. His genius remains unique in the history of music, his career a defining era that still today moves and inspires both audiences and musicians.

© Jean-Philippe Tremblay, 2012
Translation: Robert Markow

Read more

About

AN 2 9916
AN 2 9916
AN 2 9916

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9998

Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique

Compositeurs
Date de sortie 27 mars 2012
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9998
Periodes Romantique

Informations sur l'album

Hector Berlioz (1803-1869)
Symphonie fantastique, op. 14

Lorsqu’il écrivit la Symphonie fantastique, Berlioz était-il conscient d’avoir créé un modèle orchestral toujours utilisé presque 200 ans plus tard ? Certainement pas. Dans le prolongement direct des symphonies de Beethoven, mais sans cependant l’imiter, il portera le genre symphonique à son apogée, ce qui lui vaudra la reconnaissance certaine de Franz Liszt et, plus tard, de Gustav Mahler et Richard Strauss.

Il faut retourner aux années 1818-1819 pour en bien saisir l’origine. Dans la bibliothèque de son père, Hector découvre les œuvres de Chateaubriand, Sénancour et en particulier celles de Florian, dont Estelle et Némorin, pastorale naïve d’une grande beauté narrative, qui le séduira et allumera chez Berlioz cet espoir d’un amour pur et désintéressé.

Plus tard, iI découvrira les Confessions d’un mangeur d’opium anglais, récit autobiographique de Thomas de Quincey, ouvrage qui certainement, quoique peut-être inconsciemment, inspirera ce voyage psychédélique qu’est la Symphonie fantastique. Viendront ensuite l’œuvre de Shakespeare et le Faust de Goethe. Il écrira plus tard dans ses Mémoires : « … toujours sous l’influence du poème de Goethe, j’écrivis ma Symphonie fantastique avec beaucoup de peine pour certaines parties, avec une facilité incroyable pour d’autres. » Nous sommes en 1830 et Berlioz n’a que 26 ans. Six ans seulement se sont écoulés depuis la première audition de la Neuvième de Beethoven, trois ans depuis la mort de ce dernier.

Impossible d’aborder la Symphonie fantastique sans se familiariser avec le concept de l’« idée fixe ». Invention musicale de Berlioz, elle est la clé pour déchiffrer et apprécier l’œuvre. Le déroulement narratif est simple : un jeune artiste (Berlioz), sous l’influence de l’opium, a une série de visions – les cinq mouvements dans lesquels une jeune femme lui apparaît sous différentes formes.

Cellule mélodique récurrente, ce thème sera d’abord énoncé dans son intégralité puis, à travers chaque mouvement, se présentera sous diverses variations mélodiques, harmoniques et rythmiques, au gré de l’imagination du compositeur.

Berlioz exprime et exorcise sa passion obsessive pour cette « idée fixe » dans un style musical qui servira de point de départ aux symphonistes romantiques des cent années à venir. Le romantisme français était né.

Comme ce sera le cas chez Wagner, ce leitmotiv « allongé », cette « idée fixe » musicale récurrente représentant un concept, un personnage, met la table pour ce mouvement musical à venir, la musique à programme. Comme trop tôt dans l’histoire de la musique, elle choquera le monde musical autant sinon plus que le feront le Sacre du Printemps de Stravinski et le Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune de Debussy presque qu’un siècle plus tard.

Cependant, dans l’histoire qui nous intéresse ici, l’« idée fixe » a un nom il s’agit de l’actrice irlandaise Harriet Smithson que Berlioz découvrit dans Shakespeare et qui faisait sensation dans le Paris de 1830 qui, après avoir découvert Beethoven, en faisait autant avec Shakespeare. Celle qui deviendra plus tard sa première épouse ne s’intéresse pour l’instant aucunement aux lettres que Berlioz lui adresse. Le soir de la première, il lui réservera une place dans une loge, mais elle ne viendra pas. Tant pis, le compositeur trouvera le réconfort dans son œuvre. C’est dans sa musique qu’ils seront ensemble.

Grand rêve en cinq mouvements d’un cerveau malade, transformant sa folie en idées musicales, la Symphonie fantastique de Berlioz inspirera toute une génération de compositeurs. Le génie de Berlioz reste unique dans l’histoire de la musique, et sa carrière est un moment décisif de l’univers musical qui, encore aujourd’hui, inspire et touche tant le public que les musiciens.

© Jean-Philippe Tremblay, 2012

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 9927-8
AN 2 9927-8
AN 2 9927-8

Start typing and press Enter to search