fbpx
Brian Current

Brian Current

Brian Current studied music at McGill University and UC Berkeley (PhD 2002). His music, lauded and broadcast in over 35 countries, has earned him a Guggenheim Fellowship, the Barlow Prize for Orchestral Music (USA), the Italian Premio Fedora for Chamber Opera, and the Selected Work (Under 30) at the 2001 International Rostrum of Composers in Paris.

Brian Current’s pieces have been programmed by all major symphony orchestras in Canada and by dozens of professional orchestras, ensembles, and opera companies world-wide. His music appears on 10 commercial recordings, including three albums devoted exclusively to his works. The recording of his opera Airline Icarus earned him a 2015 Juno Award for Best Classical Composition of the Year.

Current is also an in-demand guest conductor and regularly leads orchestral programs of contemporary music. He has conducted a wide range of repertoire from Mozart to Takemitsu and has championed nearly 100 works by Canadian composers. He has served as the main conductor of the Continuum Ensemble since 2011 and has guest conducted numerous symphonies and ensembles in Canada, the US, and Italy. Dedicated to education, Dr. Current’s main conducting activities since 2007 have been as director of the New Music Ensemble of the Glenn Gould School at The Royal Conservatory.

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
Brian Current

Brian Current

Brian Current a étudié la musique à l’Université McGill et à l’Université de Californie à Berkeley, recevant son doctorat en l’an 2002. Au cours de sa carrière, il a été récompensé par de nombreux prix dont la Bourse Guggenheim, le prix Barlow de musique orchestrale (États-Unis), le prix italien Fedora d’opéra de chambre et la distinction d’OEuvre sélectionnée (catégorie « jeunes compositeurs ») à la Tribune internationale des compositeurs à Paris. Sa musique est diffusée dans plus de 35 pays.

Les pièces de Brian Current ont été jouées par tous les grands orchestres du Canada et par des dizaines d’orchestres professionnels, d’ensembles et de compagnies d’opéra à travers le monde. Ses compositions figurent dans dix enregistrements commerciaux, y compris trois albums consacrés exclusivement à sa musique. L’enregistrement de l’opéra Airline Icarus lui a valu le prix Juno 2015 pour la meilleure composition de l’année.

Current est également un chef d’orchestre très sollicité qui dirige régulièrement des productions pour orchestre de musique contemporaine. Il a assuré la direction d’un répertoire d’oeuvres qui comporte aussi bien du Mozart que du Takemitsu et inclut une centaine de compositions de musique canadienne dont il est un ardent promoteur. Depuis 2011, il occupe le poste de chef d’orchestre principal du Continuum Ensemble et a été chef invité de nombreux orchestres symphoniques et d’ensembles musicaux au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Italie. Convaincu de l’importance que revêt la fonction de pédagogue, Brian Current consacre une bonne part de ses activités de direction depuis 2007 au New Music Ensemble de l’École Glen Gould du Conservatoire royal de musique.

Start typing and press Enter to search