fbpx
Richard Troxell

Richard Troxell

Dubbed “smashing” by Ben Brantley of the New York Times, Richard Troxell brings equal parts charm and international operatic experience to the stage wherever he performs. To look at him, one would not think he has a 25-year career that spans across the great opera houses of the world.

Not your “normal” opera singer, Troxell’s career has ranged from the starring role of Pinkerton in Martin Scorcese’s Sony Film of Madama Butterfly to appearing as a regular guest on NBC’s Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon; from climbing out of the sewers of Seville as Don Jose at the Sydney Opera House in Carmen to singing the Star Spangled Banner for Major League Baseball’s ALCS Championship opener; and from being a dwarf at Avery Fisher Hall in Zemlinsky’s Der Zwerg to joining forces with the divine Broadway legend, Melissa Errico, in the critically acclaimed Encores revival of Do I Hear a Waltz by Rodgers and Hammerstein and again this year in the Bay Street Theater’s Production of Kiss Me Kate.

An extremely versatile singer, Richard Troxell runs the gamut of musical genres, as audiences can hear in his recordings of opera, sacred music, Broadway and jazz, to his performances at Carnegie Hall and the Metropolitan Opera. He has worked with a wide range of great musical artists, including James Conlon, Lorin Maazel, Erich Kunzel, Keith Roberts, Plácido Domingo, Jeff Tyzik, Anton Coppola, Steven Mercurio, Quest Love, and the Roots.

When he is not recording, performing, or touring, he can be found in his pine forest building a three-story tree house, hanging 300-foot zip lines for his “kids,” or cooking dinners for 35 of his closest friends. Richard Troxell resides in the countryside of Chester County, Pennsylvania with his family: Lisa, Wilder, and Shane.

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
Richard Troxell

Richard Troxell

Richard Troxell, qualifié d’« épatant » par Ben Brantley du New York Times, apporte à la fois son charme et son expérience lyrique internationale chaque fois qu’il monte sur scène. À le voir, on a du mal à croire qu’il a déjà 25 ans de carrière et a fréquenté les plus grandes salles du monde.

La carrière de Richard Troxell n’a pas suivi un parcours habituel, comme le démontre ses prestations diverses, que ce soit son rôle de Pinkerton dans le film de Martin Scorsese Madama Butterfly (Sony), sa présence régulière sur le plateau du Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon (NBC), son rôle de Don José, qui escalade les égouts de Séville, dans la production de Carmen de l’Opéra de Sydney, son hymne national américain chanté à l’ouverture du Championnat de baseball des Ligues Majeures, son rôle de nain dans Der Zwerg de Zemlinsky au Avery Fisher Hall ou encore sa collaboration avec la divine Melissa Errico, légende de Broadway avec qui il s’est produit dans la reprise de Do I Hear a Waltz de Rodgers et Hammerstein, montée par Encore ! et unanimement saluée par la critique. Il a renouvelé cette collaboration par la suite dans Kiss Me Kate au Bay Street Theater.

Chanteur aux multiples talents, Richard Troxell possède un répertoire très varié comme en témoigne sa discographie qui comprend des classiques de l’opéra, de la musique sacrée, du Broadway et du jazz, et ses prestations dans des salles comme le Carnegie Hall ou le Metropolitan Opera. Il a travaillé aux côtés de nombreux artistes de toutes traditions musicales tels que James Conlon, Lorin Maazel, Erich Kunzel, Keith Roberts, Plácido Domingo, Jeff Tyzik, Anton Coppola, Steven Mercurio, Quest Love et Roots.

Quand il n’est pas en studio, en concert ou en tournée, on peut le trouver dans sa forêt de pins en train de construire une maison de trois étages dans un arbre, d’installer une tyrolienne de 90 mètres pour ses « enfants » ou encore de cuisiner pour des tablées de 35 amis. Richard Troxell habite à la campagne, dans le Comté de Chester en Pennsylvanie, avec sa femme Lisa et ses deux enfants, Wilder et Shane.

Start typing and press Enter to search