fbpx
Wlad Marhulets

Wlad Marhulets

The music of Wlad Marhulets has been performed widely by world-class companies such as the Lyric Opera of Chicago, Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, Czech National Symphony, Detroit Symphony, Orchestre National de Lyon, the Sinfonietta Cracovia, the Lithuanian choir Jauna Muzika, Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra, Macedonian Philharmonic Orchestra, and others. He is the winner of the Susan W. Rose Fund Grant, the Peter D. Faith Prize, and five ASCAP Awards, including the prestigious Leonard Bernstein Award. A full scholarship student during his tenure at the Juilliard School, Wlad Malhulets studied composition exclusively with the Oscar and Pulitzer Prize-winning composer John Corigliano.

In addition to works for the stage, Marhulets maintains an active career as a screen composer, with credits for films such as Ambition (directed by Bob Shaye), Hitman: Agent 47 (starring Zachary Quinto), Ruby Strangelove Young Witch (directed by Evgeny Ruman), The Giver (starring Meryl Streep), November Man (starring Pierce Brosnan), Orchestra of Exiles (directed by Oscar nominee Josh Aronson), Sabotage (starring Arnold Schwarzenegger), and others.

His klezmer opera The Property was premiered by Lyric Opera of Chicago in the 2014–2015 season to rave reviews. New City Stage remarked: “Marhulets miraculously combines the elements of klezmer, the ‘secular’ side of Jewish music, with the underpinnings of contemporary opera. His use of leitmotif is masterful, and his sense of vocal line, sublime.” More recent premieres include the chamber work Dybbuk by clarinetist David Krakauer and the Pan Ton Quartet at the 28th Jewish Culture Festival in Krakow, Poland. Located in Los Angeles, Wlad Malhulets is published by G. Schirmer.

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
Wlad Marhulets

Wlad Marhulets

Les œuvres de Wlad Marhulets ont été interprétées par des ensembles reconnus mondialement tels que l’Opéra lyrique de Chicago, l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, l’Orchestre symphonique tchèque, l’Orchestre symphonique de Détroit, l’Orchestre national de Lyon, la Sinfonietta Cracovia, la chorale lithuanienne Jauna Muzika, l’Orchestre philharmonique du Qatar, l’Orchestre philharmonique de Macédoine, et d’autres encore. Il a été lauréat de la bourse Susan W. Rose, du prix Peter D. Faith et a remporté cinq Prix ASCAP, dont le prestigieux prix Leonard Bernstein. Bénéfi ciant d’une bourse d’études, Wlad Marhulets a étudié la composition à la Juilliard School auprès du compositeur John Corigliano, lauréat d’un Oscar et d’un prix Pulitzer, qui a été son maître exclusif.

En parallèle à son travail scénique, M. Marhulets mène avec brio une carrière de compositeur pour le grand écran et compte à son actif la musique de films tels que Ambition (réalisé par Bob Shaye), Hitman : Agent 47 (avec Zachary Quinto), Ruby Strangelove Young Witch (réalisé par Evgeny Ruman), The Giver (avec Meryl Streep), November Man (avec Pierce Brosnan), Orchestra of Exiles (réalisé par Josh Aronson, nominé pour un Oscar), Sabotage (avec Arnold Schwarzenegger), et d’autres encore.

The Property, l’opéra klezmer de Wlad Marhulets, a été inauguré à l’Opéra lyrique de Chicago lors de la saison 2014-2015 et a rencontré un franc succès. New City Stage a déclaré à son propos : « Marhulets arrive à conjuguer de façon miraculeuse des éléments de klezmer, la version “séculaire” de la musique juive, et un substrat d’opéra contemporain. Son utilisation des leitmotivs est remarquable et son sens de la ligne musicale exceptionnel. » Une autre première a eu lieu plus récemment, celle du Dybbuk, interprété par le clarinettiste David Krakauer et le Pan Ton Quartet lors du 28e Festival de la culture juive de Cracovie, en Pologne. Wlad Marhulets réside à Los Angeles. Ses œuvres sont éditées chez G. Schirmer.

Start typing and press Enter to search